Cutie Pie That – Customizable Mini Pies that will change your life

I’m not what you would call a pie person. During Thanksgiving I always avoided the pie buffet and went straight for the ice cream (or let’s be real more sweet potatoes). Pumpkin aint so bad but I would never order it on a menu.  As you may remember, fruit in general is not my jam, but fruit in pies makes me think of a Fear Factor eating  experience (force me to eat a traditional cherry pie and watch the panick attack rapidly commence). In short, pie just aint my thing.

 

This all changed yesterday when I tasted the pies from Cutie Pie That, a LA based micro-bakery specializing in individual sized four-inch pies you can custom order to fit any dietary preference.  Believe when I say, these aren’t your grandma’s pies (though not knocking mee-maws cause they are rad).  With organic and locally grown ingredients, rotating seasonal flavors, and of course vegan and gluten-free options, these are the perfect delight for a party of one.

All of Cutie Pie That’s pies are hand baked by avid home baker turned professional Tonya Dooley, and she doesn’t stop there.  She also offers Lolli-pies (because cake pops are so 2011) and even Muttloaf Paw Pies for the beloved doggie in your life. Umm, okay, my obsession and my hunger overload is seriously at an all time high.

 

This morning I got an order of three different pies delivered to my house by the lovely Lara who works for Cutie Pie That. I got two-gluten-free, vegan pies, and one vegan but not gluten free pie to sample.

Freshly baked pies delivered right to my door!

 

The flavors were Nutty Winter Apple, Vegan Strawberry Lemonade (gf), and Sweet Vegan Strawberry (gf).

 

Nutty Apple Pie, Strawberry Lemonade Pie, Sweet Strawberry Pie

Well Cutie Pie That!, you have officially turned my pie game upside-down. I don’t even know how to put into words how obsessed I am with every single flavor of Cutie Pie pies I ate this evening – maybe – CERTIFIABLE SUPER FAN. Too much? (Picture YVGF with Cutie Pie face-paint and a pig cutie pie thumb on at a pie bowl … just do it!)

The Nutty Apple flavor, which was vegan but not gluten-free, was better than any other apple dessert I have ever tasted. (Cause weirdly, sometimes I get a craving for apple crisp mainly for the topping but, anyways, this is 1000000 times better).

Nutty Winter Apple Pie (vegan)

This pie straight up shocked me. Like I said before, fruit in pies give me the willies, and I normally do not enjoy apples in any form, be it baked, raw, candied, chipped or otherwise. However, this apple pie was, not only the best apple pie I’ve ever tasted in my LIFE, but pretty much converted me into a flag waving fruit in de pie lover. (What are you trying to do with my brain here CPT????? I thought I knew myself!!!) The apples were so tender and eerily orchard fresh, as if I (or I guess the chef) had picked each apple from some fantasy garden where apple picking actually exists and then fresh cider is made all day, and then instantly used it to make this pie and delivered it to me all in the same few hours … basically the freshness was unprecedented. The apples were also seasoned impeccably (no nutmeg YESSSSSS) and had the perfect mix of cinnamony goodness and sweet apple compote to round off the dreamy filling. The different nuts adorning the top of the pie brought the flawless amount of crunch and richness to what I know deem, the epitome of apple pie. MUST ORDERRRRRR, obviously.

 

The next pie I tasted was the Vegan and Gluten-Free Strawberry Lemonade Pie.

Strawberry Lemonade Pie (vegan & gluten-free)

OMFGFGFGFGFG!!!!!!!!!! I was expecting this to be my least fav since strawberry lemonade makes me think of gross Crystal Light, but WOW was I dead wrong. Not only was this pie my favorite of the three, I would encourage lemon and strawberry haters to try it because it could and would change your minds about not only fruit but life. The gluten-free crust was better than ANY gluten-free baked good I have ever tasted; I legit would just eat that alone as a dessert and be good to go. The pie filling itself tasted exactly like the ripest, juiciest and freshest strawberries were picked (again from a magical vegan fairy garden), and then carefully muddled with equally as seasonal, tart, and refreshing, freshly squeezed lemonade and then immediately put into my mouth.

A. Have you ever heard of a more inventive pie flavor?

B. Have you ever seen a prettier, more perfect Valentines Day/bachelorette/bday/Gigi or her beast of an owner from the Real Housewives of Beverly Hill’s celebratory dinner/TGI-Sunny, present in your life?

And

C. HOLY SWEET GODS OF VEGAN GLORY YUM OH YUM OH YUM. If I could start a shrine for this pie I would. I need to stop writing about it now cause I’m boderlining creepy (per usu), but seriously YOU MUST ORDER THIS NOW. MUST MUST MUST MUST ORDERRRRRRRRRRRR. Bucket list good. Thanks.

 

The last pie I tried (tear, Girlfriend want more pie rarrrrrr), was the Gluten-Free Sweet Vegan Strawberry Pie.

Vegan Sweet Strawberry Pie (vegan & gluten-free)

This pie was obviously amazing too. The strawberries were so, again, fresh to death, and the sweetness of the pie was a great contrast to the tartness of the Strawberry Lemonade one.  For a “fruit stand alone” pie I think this was the tops, but plain plain fruit pies are still not my order of choice, so I would personally go with one of the other two. If you do like fruit pies, on the other hand, than surely there is no better embodiment of a fruit pie done right than this baby right hurrr. Fresh, juicy, sweet, with a buttery cookie-like crust to die for. So.Im.Pressed.

Cutie Pie That! has truly made brilliant and unique artisanal pies that are perfect for us Angelenos: we all fancy ourselves foodies who crave true comfort food but want something more elegant and imaginative.  These pies, that look rustic, yet feel so chic and modern, clearly fit the bill.


All of Cutie Pie That’s pies are hand baked by avid home baker turned professional Tonya Dooley, and she doesn’t stop there.  She also offers Lolli-pies (because cake pops are so 2011) and even Muttloaf Paw Pies for the beloved doggie in your life. Umm, okay, my obsession and my hunger overload is seriously at an all time high.

HERE IS HOW TO GET YO HANDS ON THESE RIDIC DONK PIES!
Cutie Pie That! can currently be found at three Los Angeles area farmers markets:  Sierra Madre Farmers Market on Wednesdays, La Canada Flintridge Farmers Market on Saturdays and Larchmont Village Farmers Market on Sundays (the only one of these I even no how to find on a map).  They’re also available at Café Livre et Le Marche in Culver City. BUT for those interested in vegan and gluten-free versions you gotta custom order.

Yes, sadly, at present Tonya isn’t offering vegan pies in her market selections, but she does make them all the time for custom orders big and small!  And, of course, this may change if their popularity grows, so get on it people!!!

ALSO:

Tonya will deliver a pie order of $25 or more free of charge in the LA area. SO basically no need to change out of your Forever Lazy and Tonya will also bring custom orders to the markets on advance order so like done and done.

Even better, personal deliveries can be made in the Los Angeles area. Cost will be determined at time of order based on exact location and day/time needed. Many of our pies can be shipped anywhere in the U.S. – and boy oh boy are these the perfect way to say “I Love You.”

So basically you have a million and one options to get these mind-blowingly-delicious, unique, vegan and gluten-free (or not) pies.

Cutie Pie That! has completely turned my pie game upside-down and, pie lover or not, yours will be too.

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

 

Leave a Reply

