Bossa Nova

I have midterms week coming up which means locking myself in my room all weekend to get work done. FML. On Saturday night, I peeled myself away from studying just long enough to glance at the clock.  It was around 9 pm and I hadn’t eaten dinner yet (I did manage to down an entire bag of veggie chips in the previous hours but that doesn’t count), so I turned to grubhub to get something delivered ASAP. I wasn’t in the mood for vegan Thai, or Italian, so I decided to go with Bossa Nova, that appeared to have some great veggie friendly options. I have eaten at Bossa Nova in West Hollywood before and remember being a little underwhelmed but decided to roll the dice cause I had a hankering for rice and beans.

 

Bossa Nova Brazilian Cusinie

10982 W Pico Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90048
Neighborhood: West Los Angeles

(310) 441-0404

I’ve never actually eaten at this location so I can’t comment on the dining experience at the actual restaurant, so let’s just move on to the food.
I ordered what I thought was a normal amount for dinner, but it turned out to be a full on veggie feast.

Dinner for one

I got the vegetable platter, which comes with seasonal vegetables, white rice, salsa, yucca flour, a side of black beans and with the choice of fries or plantains. I couldn’t decide so I got both. Typical. I also ordered a side salad to try to offset the fried fiesta I intended on consuming. Keepin’ it healthy guys.

 

The veggie platter itself was just okay.

Steamed Vegetable Platter - Seasonal vegetables marinated in Brazilian herbs and spices. Served with your choice of side (I chose Rice, Black Beans, Salsa, Yucca Flour, and French Fries).

The veggies themselves were super underseasoned, but after a healthy dosing of Himalayan salt, not so bad. The salsa was super yummy and tasted great mixed in with the rice and veggies. I wasn’t really sure what to do with the yucca flour though, so I tried dipping the broccoli in it. I still don’t know if I liked it or not, but it wasn’t a repeat performance. I was mostly just puzzled. I think it was good? Sometimes food is weird like that. The rice was fine, nothing spec but tasty when mixed with the black beans.

Black beans

The beans were also just okay. Good but not amazing. I prefer the black beans at Versailles.

The french fries were supah good, but sadly a little cold due to delivery time I’m sure.

French Fries

I love french fries, so this part of the meal was clearly a win. They actually cooked them pretty perfectly too, which is surprisingly a rarity in this city. French fries are never a bad call.

The plantains were by far the best part of the meal.

Plantains

These were perfection! I love me some good plantains and these golden brown caramelized bananas satisfied both sweet and savory taste cravings. This is the only must order of the bunch.

 

The salad was meh too and I was a little disappointed the “mixed greens” turned out to be mostly iceberg lettuce.

Side salad

Not much else to say here.

 

I don’t think I will be eating at/ordering from Bossa Nova again anytime soon, but I do appreciate the veggie options and late night delivery (til 2 am!). I think it’s a good bet if you want something delivered post 10 pm and don’t feel like calling 1-800-Dominoes. Plantains could be worth the delivery fee.

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

