Enjoy Life Chewy Bars!

I’ve been helping my dear friend Marjan switch to a gluten-free diet after her doctor told her gluten containing items were negatively effecting her hormone levels. I’ve told her all about the best gluten-free cereal, my favorite gluten-free products and my all time favorite gluten-free indulgence I concocted, and that all my recipes are gluten-free! I know, I’m the best. But today Marj one upped me by turning me on to my new obsession: Enjoy Life‘s vegan and gluten-free Chewy Bars. At school around the 11:00 am mark I hit a wall, and needed a pre-lunch nosh like woah. After eating my standard freezer-sized bag full of gluten-free cereal I was still pretty hangry, and luckily Marj was sitting next to me and pulled out this incredible vegan snack bar I had no idea existed!

Enjoy Life Carmel Apple Chewy Bars

After carefully reading the nutrition facts (like a good Jew/veggie loving/gluten-free/generally neurotic girlfriend should) I stuffed an inappropriate sized bite into my mouth and was instantly amazed.

The goods

Guys, this bar is shockingly delicious, and at only 120 calories and 7 g a sugar a serving, I may have just found my new go-to for a mid-morning pick me up. The crisp apple flavor hit me instantly (it actually kind of reminded me of apple cinnamon instant oatmeal, yummm) and the texture was amazingly cohesive and chewy as so many gluten-free products fail to achieve.  The caramel flavor was more subtle, but I loved that. It was sweet, but not too sweet, and extremely natural, simple, and carby tasting, which I am always am a huge fan of. The carby-er the better. I had to sit on my hands to keep from stealing the rest of the bar…

 

After school I raced over to Whole Foods to stock up on the Chewy Bars to have at home, and to try the three other vegan and gluten-free flavors Enjoy Life offers.

All four flavors of the Enjoy Life Chewy Bars in Very Berry, Carmel Apple, Sunbutter Crunch and Cocoa Loco.

Although I haven’t gotten around to tasting the other flavors yet (and when I do I will report back ASAP) I have a feeling they all will be equally as delish as the one I ate this morning. The Sunbutter Crunch variety is definitely next on my list to destroy (y’all know how much I love sunbutter).

Here today, in my mouth tomorrow.

Not only are all of the Enjoy Life Chewy Bars completely allergen free (wheat, gluten, nut, soy, dairy, lactose, and casein), they are crazy delicious, healthy, and come in the perfect portion controlled 1 oz size! Thus far, I have loved every Enjoy Life product I have tried (oh hi chocolate chips), but I think I just found my new Enjoy Life favorite 🙂 Now there’s no excuse to eat any gluten, dairy or egg containing snack/energy bar again! (FYI: Clif, Luna, Kashi, ThinkThin, Zone, South Beach, Atkins, Power Bars and even some KIND bars all have non-vegan or non-gluten-free ingredients, and in most cases, both).

I already packed my lunch for school tomorrow (don’t judge me) and you better believe I have some Chewy Bars in my little brown bag 🙂 Can’t wait to try the other flavors!

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

 

Leave a Reply

