Hanukkah Recipe Round Up

Is everyone as excited as me about the two mayjah holidays coming up?!? I grew up celebrating both Christmas and Hanukkah which meant double the presents, double the fun (menorahs and Santa Clause!) and most importantly, double the food (some things will never change).  My family still gathers each year to celebrate the holidays (this year we are doing a Christmukah feast/celebration combining both holidays) with a huge buffet style dinner spread.  I seriously look forward to this all year. Although my extended family is not vegan, I know with the right recipes I can make believers out of them yet! Hanukkah is a holiday that doesn’t get as much love food wise as it’s Christian counterpart (trust me, I spent hours scouring the web, yikes) but it should! Traditional Jewish recipes are typically carb heavy, usually cheesey and always delish.  My Hanukkah’s past have always included latkes, tons of sour cream and applesauce, kugel, brisket and a whole lotta cheese… oh and I can’t forget the Hanukkah gelt (and resultant Hanukkah guilt from the pounds of food I consume)! Clearly there are a lot of non-vegan ingredients in Hanukkah recipes, but below you can find some great vegan versions of everyone’s favorite dishes! After reading this round-up, you can have a glorious vegan buffet of yumminess from morning to night! Let’s get started!

 

Enjoy a Hanukkah breakfast or brunch with blintzes and matzo brei:

The Vegan Venus’ Cheese Blintzes with Blueberry Sauce

Chef Chloe’s Matzo Brei

 

Wow guests with vegan cheese logs:

Tofu-N-Sproutz’ Holiday Cashew Cheese Log

Epicurean Vegan’s Orange Almond Cheese Log

and serve it with some of Ashley and Stephen from (never home) maker’s Vegan Challah

 

Nosh on some apps while you wait for the main event like:

Ricki from Diet Dessert and Dogs’ Mock Chopped Liver Pate

 

 

 

Make sure to make a latke or two or three with some of these amazing latke recipes:

Isa Chandra from The Post Punk Kitchen’s Potato Latkes

Sugar Plum Vegan’s Gluten Free Potato Latkes

Meet The Shannon’s Baked Latkes

The Copy Cat Cook’s Gluten-Free Potato and Sweet Potato Latkes

Betsy DiJulio’s Sweet Potato Latkes with Chutney Sour Cream and Curried Onion-Apple-White Bean Topping

The Vegan Workshop’s Parsnip and Pear Latkes

Naturally Savvy’s Sweet Potato & Porcini Mushroom Latkes

 

Make sure to make a vegan kugel:

Cybele Pascal’s Potato Leek “Cheddar” Kugel

Joshua from The Discerning Brute’s Noodle Kugel

Beans, Figs and Katz’ Gluten-Free Coconut Spiced Kugel

Joel from Vegan Good Eat’s Spinach Mushroom Quinoa Quiche/Kugel

Ricki from Diet Dessert and Dogs’ Vegetable Bread Kugel

 

Get fancy with some vegan brisket:

Jenn from Veganize It Don’t Criticize It’s Vegan Red Wine and Peppercorn Braised Brisket

Leah Koenig’s Seitan Brisket

 

And for goodness sake, have some Hannukah dessert!

Don’t Fear The Vegan’s White Chocolate Rugelach

Vegan Start’s Sufganiot (aka Jelly Doughnuts)

Food.com’s Aprioct Chanukah Gelt

The Vegan Brute’s Chocolate and Cinnamon Rugelach

Vegetarian Times’ Miniature Jelly Donuts

Chabad.org’s Chocolate Mint Chanukah Coins

 

The Chubby Vegan does Veganomicon’s Jelly Filled Cupcakes

Good Housekeeping’s Surprise Hanukkah Gelt

 

ANDDDDDD, to finish the feast off right, drink some of Jamie Oliver’s Mulled Wine

The end!

 

Happy Hanukkah! I can’t wait to listen to Adam Sandler and gorge myself on vegan latkes with my entire fam. Hooray for vegan Jewish eats!

 

Look for a Christmas recipe round-up next week – cause smiling is my favorite 🙂

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

 

8 thoughts on “Hanukkah Recipe Round Up

  1. Okay, It has been exactly 42 minutes since I began looking at your post and I can definitely say I just got so side-tracked from my day looking at these ridiculously delicious recipes! As a christian and Christmas celebrator, I must say that I secretly LOVE Jewish food. All I can do is hope for an invite to a party but now I can do it myself and vegan style!! Plus, this is a very big plus, you have Kugel, Latkas and Rugelach which definitely rival bagels for the best Jewish food invention…Unreal! Thanks Arielle!

Leave a Reply

