My Favorite Recipe … EVER

Hello everyone!!!!!!

I finally finished my fall quarter and now I have free time until January 2nd … hooooray! As soon as I finished all of my work and final papers, the very first thing I did was make my all time favorite recipe in the world. My super simple roasted kabocha squash – which I make in bulk now because when I have time to make it, I eat it every day. I posted a version of this recipe way back when (you can see the original post here), but have since perfected the already simple instructions. This recipe isn’t fancy, time-consuming, gourmet or involved, and other than cutting the kabocha, it takes like 2 minutes to prepare.  My kinda recipe.  So why am I so obsessed with this recipe/kabocha squash/eating said squash every day? I have no idea.  But I do know that this is the best thing I have ever tasted and I haven’t gotten sick of it yet.

For those who are not familiar with the kabocha squash yet (and believe me if you are not you NEED to be!) it is an absolutely delicious Japanese root vegetable in the pumpkin family.  This winter squash had a strong naturally sweet flavor and fluffy texture.  It reminds me of a cross between a pumpkin and sweet potato – but way better, obviously.  The average kabocha weighs about 2 to 3 pounds – so make sure you bring a strong bag when you buy these at your local grocer.

(photo credit: world crops)

Now on to the recipe! This sweet and simple kabocha squash recipe tastes like sweet potato casserole and pumpkin pie’s love child.  It’s pure heaven.

 

The Best Recipe Ever (aka Sweet and Simple Kabocha Squash)

  • Kabocha squash (I usually use two to make this in “bulk”)
  • Coconut oil spray
  • Himalayan pink salt
  • Cinnamon
  • Stevia powder
  • Maple Syrup

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Scrub the outside of the squash well, cut your kabocha in half and scoop out the pulp and seeds.

Cut the squash into wedges in the size of your liking. I like to make mine into long and skinny wedges because they are more bite sized and portable that way (kabocha on the go anyone?).

Spray a parchment paper lined cookie sheet with a generous amount of coconut oil spray.  Place your kabocha slices carefully on the cookie sheet, making sure not to overlap.  Generously spray the kabocha with coconut oil spray. Lightly sprinkle the squash with the salt, then cinnamon, then stevia powder.

Bake at 400 degrees for approx 20-25 minutes. Remove the squash from the oven, flip each piece, and bake for 20-25 miuntes longer until edges are brown and squash is caramelized.

Transfer to a plate, drizzle with maple syrup and serve!

Or put some maple syrup in a small bowl and individually dip each kabocha slice into the syrup and eat … that’s what I do, whoopsies.

Store non-mapled leftover squash in an air tight container in the fridge for up to a week  (but I almost guaranteed they will be gone in a day).

BEST RECIPE EVER. I am such a kabochavore it’s weird. I can polish off an entire squash in a day and ate almost a whole one for dinner tonight. After you make this recipe, you’ll know why. Enjoy everybody!!

 

Any other kabocha addicts out there?? Try this recipe and I know you’ll join the kabocha-obsessed club 🙂

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Recipe … EVER

  1. It’s my favorite! I tried it for the first time after reading about it on your blog! I’m ADDICTED! except most of the time our local grocers do not carry them! 😦

    Congrats on finishing your fall quarter!

Leave a Reply

