Recharge Healthy Kitchen

As I’ve said before, one of my favorite things about New York is the abundant delivery options available at pretty much all hours of the day and night. Last Thursday I decided to get lunch delivered (jeez it was cold!), browsing Seamless Web for some healthy options. I decided on, what looked like, a very promising eatery called Recharge Healthy Kitchen on the Upper East Side. I used my Seamless iPhone app, placed an order and patiently awaited what I hoped would be a great start to my weekend culinary crusade. About an hour later, the door bell rang, and I was ready to get my single lady lunch party started.

 

 

Recharge Healthy Kitchen

1452 2nd Ave
(between 75th St & 76th St)
New York, NY 10021

(212) 288-2533

 

 

With plenty of vegan, vegetarian and generally healthy menu options, I had an array of goodies to choose from. I decided on one of my favorite “can’t mess up” meals: a veggie burger over a salad. I also ordered a giant side of hummus because it’s amazing.

Veggie Burger Salad

The veggie burger patty itself was utterly delicious! It had chunks of carrots, peas, and edamame, and an encouragingly green tint.  The house salad it was served over wasn’t anything too special – the cucumbers were especially watery but the balsamic dressing was tasty and when I smothered the greens with the two large servings of dressing my order came with, this entrée turned out to be a big thumbs up.

 

The hummus was also a winner and I all too generously smothered it on my salad as well – double the dressing, double the fun. The salad also came with whole wheat pita great for extra hummus dipping!

Hummus

The hummus was heavy on the tahini, light on the oil, and felt like a guilt free indulgence perfect for lunch.  This thicker than normal version was uber filling as well; I definitely had leftovers.

 

Lunch was a definite win and required nothing more than an iPhone click to fulfill my vegan foodie needs. With Seamless Web co-signing my laziness, I enjoyed the perfect Fall lunch in the city: indoors, with the heat blasting and stuffing my face with vegan goodness. You can take the girlfriend out of LA, but you can’t take the LA out of your vegan girlfriend 🙂

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

