Cooks County

(photo cred: la times)

Whenever my girlfriends and I try new restaurants I always feel a little dread.  Will they have vegan options? Will my order sound annoying? Can they make me something off the menu? Ugh. I wish every restaurant was as accommodating as Hugo’s but sadly they are not. Luckily more and more regular ole’ restaurants are offering veggie centric dishes these days so even your vegan girlfriend can eat pretty much anywhere. Last night my best friends and I tried the newly opened Cooks County, a farmer’s market and very Californian inspired bistro on Beverly.

Cooks County

8009 Beverly Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90048
Neighborhoods: Mid-City West, West Hollywood

(323) 653-8009

Hours: Mon-Fri 12 pm – 2:30 pm. Mon-Wed 5:30 pm – 12 am, Thu 5:30 pm – 1 am, Fri-Sat 5:30 pm – 2 am. Sat-Sun 11 am – 3 pm, Sun 5:30 pm – 12:30 am

(photo cred: la times)

The space is intimate treading the fine line of small even, but I didn’t feel at all cramped and love the cozy atmosphere. We made a rezzie and were seated immediately right beside their sprawling open kitchen. Romantic lighting and exposed wood gave the interior a rustic feel yet still managed to be enticing enough for a date night or fancy evening with a group. 

(photo credit: la grove living)

As far as vegan options went their menu didn’t have a ton, which made ordering pretty easy.  All of their salads can be made without cheese to make them vegan, as well as their vegetable sides. The only entrée that could be made vegan was their chickpea and squash pancake, a delicious sounding creation I enthusiastically ordered from our attentive waitress.

Chickpea and squash pancake, purslane salad - made vegan

This was simply fantastic.  Not too heavy but bursting with flavor, the pancake itself was golden brown and savory.  When eaten as a “full bite” shall we say, with the purslane salad and chickpeas that garnished the pancake, my mouth was in vegan heaven.  The purslane salad was a tiny bit bitter and had some lemony notes as well, a beautiful and refreshing compliment to the heavier sweetness of the pancake.  It was such an unusual and creative concept and presentation and I can’t recommend it highly enough.
I also got a side of the grilled sprouting broccoli sautéed in chili oil.

Grilled sprouting broccoli, garlic and chili

I really loved this, also. The slight spiciness of the chili gave my all time favorite vegetable an even heartier feel. My only qualm is that perhaps the chef was a little heavy-handed with the oil, but that seems to be pretty standard in all restaurants (ie: the more oil the better). However, I would absolutely recommend this side as a lovely addition to your vegan meal.
I had a wonderful experience at Cooks County and would absolutely return. New and trendy restaurants that cater to vegans and meat eaters alike? Please and thank you 🙂
xoxo
Your Vegan Girlfriend
Leave a Reply

