Sunday Brunch at RFD

Brunch is one of the best inventions ever. Any excuse to eat breakfast foods at all hours of the day and I’m there. Breakfast foods are the ultimate comfort foods but finding them veganized can be tricky when dining out. This weekend my parents and I went to brunch at Real Food Daily in Santa Monica – one of my fav vegan restaurants in general but my #1 destination for vegan brunch in LA. My absolute favorite order here is The Weekender – a crazy combo plate of pancakes or french toast, tofu scrambled and smothered in cashew cheese, tempeh bacon, hash browns or fruit. Woah.

The Weekender - Scrambled tofu, onions, tomatoes, cashew cheese, tempeh bacon, half order french toast OR two pancakes with hash browns or fruit (pancakes here)

Switch it up and get the french toast which is the better option in my opinion, although both the pancakes and french toast are solid and never disappoint. RFD actually has some of the best french toast I’ve ever had, and the Weekender with said french toast is an absolute must order. Holy yum.

The Weekender - Scrambled tofu, onions, tomatoes, cashew cheese, tempeh bacon, half order french toast OR two pancakes with hash browns or fruit (with french toast!)

Or, if you are feeling like committing carbocide, do as my father does and get the full order of french toast on its own!

FRENCH TOAST - Rustic bread soaked in vanilla soy flaxseed batter

If you’re in the mood for some greens I highly suggest starting your meal with RFD’s delicious Sweet Green Juice! It’s so nutrient dense and satisfying and makes me feel a little less guilty about the no-joke brunch plate I’m about to take to the face.

Sweet Green – cucumber, celery, kale, parsley, spinach, apple

RFD is where it’s at for vegan brunch period amen. If you haven’t been there for it you must must must go this weekend! No time to waste when it comes to vegan brunch! Seriously you will thank me…. and I will prob see you there. They serve brunch on Sundays until 3 pm! Weeeeeee!

Anyone else have a favorite vegan brunch spot. Hugo’s is up there for me too…. mmmmm Hugo’s.

And I PROMISEEEEEE I will have a recipe or two for you all this week! Midterms are almost over and I will be able to breathe/bake again! Can’t wait!!!!!

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

2 thoughts on “Sunday Brunch at RFD

Leave a Reply

