Good Health Cafe

It’s 8:30 pm on a Sunday night in New York City. I’m on the Upper East Side, famished and without much guidance as far as delivery options go. I need food and I need it now. So what’s your vegan girlfriend to do? I hit up Seamless Web – an amazing resource for New Yorkers that displays all the delivery options available in your neighborhood that you can sort by rating, cuisine, currently delivering and more. The first hit under vegan is Good Health Cafe. The name fits the bill, I take my chances and place an order.

 

Good Health Cafe

1435 1st Ave
(between 74th St & 75th St)
New York, NY 10021

(212) 517-9898

With a wide range of vegan options I had a little trouble choosing what to order, but after my super indulgent weekend, I knew I better keep it healthy.

 

I ordered a taco app (what is it with me and Mexican food in NY???) and a veggie and tofu salad. The delivery took about 45 minutes, I unwrapped my goodies and I dug in!

 

First I tried the tacos which came stuffed with vegan chili, cheese, guac and salsa.

Soft Taco Supreme - Meatless chili, dairy-free sour cream, Cheddar cheese, pico de gallo and guacamole.

Uh-oh. The chili reminded me a little too much of Chef Boyardee … or what I think spaghetti-o’s sauce tastes like. What was this generic tomato pastey like substance masquerading as vegan chilli??? Past the chilli, overall this taco wasn’t bad, but I certainly won’t be racing back to NY to order it again. Edible not incredible.

Next I dug into my salad: a medley of grilled veggies and baked tofu over romaine.

Grilled Vegetable Salad with Baked Tofu: Tossed grilled vegetables and spiced tofu served over greens.

Okay so this was a lot smaller than I had anticipated. For a supposed entrée salad this was really more of an app. It was pretty standard and had really good carrot ginger dressing. The tofu was good but it was a little bland and reminded me of the Wildwood prepackaged tofu I buy at whole foods. In fact, it very well could have been. Again, nothing to get too excited about and not something I’m dying to eat again, but hit the hungry vegan girlfriend spot.

The one saving grace of my dinner was the few pieces of kabocha squash hiding in my salad.

My dear friend kabocha.

Kabocha = life.

I don’t love writing less than stellar reviews for restaurants. It makes me feel guilty and kind of mean. That being said, I am dedicated to honestly reviewing and tasting as much vegan food out there as possible so that other plant-based peeps don’t have to, or in the good cases, race to! So if that means giving some restaurants thumbs down so be it.

I love that there was a place that offered both vegan and non-vegan healthy options right near where I was staying and I applaud them for putting so many vegan options on their menu. Sadly, vegan options does not a happy vegan make. Hopefully Good Health will revamp their dishes and please this picky vegan girlfriend’s palate the next time I decide to roll the dice at Good Health Cafe. And hey, if not, there are only about 1938298354738942578923 other restaurants for me to try in New York 🙂

On a blog note, apologies for the lack of recipes lately. With traveling, mid-terms and BIG LIFE CHANGES (that I promise to spill soon) I haven’t been able to whip up any treats. But you all know when I go on a cooking hiatus it usually means something extra crazy, extra decadent and extra fattening is right around the corner. Hooray! Stay tuned ya’ll my news is crazy and I can’t wait to share!!

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

