Kabocha Pumpkin Bars

So you all know my mad obsession with kabocha as seen in my sonnnets slash recipes here and here. Kabocha Japanese pumpkins are my favorite winter squash and my favorite root veg in general. After I complied my Pumpkn Recipe Round Up I knew I needed to start dabbaling in some pumpkin recipes of my own. I saw so many pumpkin bar recipes in the blogesphere but not a one for a kabocha bar. The time has come! These Kabocha Bars are gluten-free, sugar-free and lip smacking scrumptious. Another way to eat kabocha??  Clearly I’m down……

Kabocha Pumpkin Bars

(makes 12 bars)

  • ½ cup kabocha puree (for tutorial on how to roast a kabocha squash click here)
  • ½ cup agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon Ener-g egg replacer mixed with 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 cup blanched almond flour
  • ¼ teaspoon Hiymilan sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ heaping teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ heaping teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

The ingredients

In a food processor, combine kabocha puree, agave and egg replacer/water and pulse until smooth and well combined.


Pulse dry ingredients into wet for a full minute, until well combined.


Pour batter into a greased 8×8 inch greased baking dish.


Bake for 30-35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Cut into squares and serve!!

Nutrition Facts (per bar): 97 calories. 4.7 g fat, 1.1 g fiber, 11.1 g sugar, 2 g protein

Anddddd here is the song I sang as an ode to these kabocha wonder bars:

(To the tune of that old school pizza bagel bites commercial)

Kabocha in the morning kabocha in the evening kabocha at suppertime, when kabocha’s in a bar form you can eat kabocha anytime. Kabocha Pumpkin Bites (pops one in mouth whole).

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

3 thoughts on “Kabocha Pumpkin Bars

  1. Pingback: Homemade Kabocha/Pumpkin Puree (or any winter squash) « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. I LOVE kabocha. I just posted a recipe today for a hubbard squash chocolate chip cookie, but they would work perfectly with kabocha too. They both have the same consistency.

Leave a Reply

