Homemade Kabocha/Pumpkin Puree (or any winter squash)

Using stuff out of a can kind of makes me feel like an amateur. I know it’s nbd but when I can get fresh produce there really is no reason or excuse to go the lazy route. After I posted my pumpkin recipe round up, I was uber inspired to make a pumpkin/fall recipe for de blog. A came up with a great kabocha pumpkin bar that I will post tonight (now posted!) but first I wanted to give a 101 post that will be needed for the recipe. My kabocha pumpkin bar recipe calls for kabocha squash puree, but the following technique will work for any winter squash: butternut, regular ole pumpkin, acorn etc etc. I obviously used kabocha in the pictures below.

 

 

Homemade Kabocha/Pumpkin Puree

Cut the pumpkin in half and scoop out the seeds. Lay the pumpkin face side down in a large baking dish. Cover with 1/4 inch water.

Bake for about an hour at 350 degrees.

Scoop out flesh and add to food processor.

Process until smooth.

Store in refrigerator in a glass mason jar or regular old bowl with saran wrap. This will keep for 5 days to a week in refrigerator. Alternately you can freeze it and then defrost when ready to use.

Tada! Now get ready to make some amazing kabocha pumpkin bars with your freshly made pumpkin puree!

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

One thought on “Homemade Kabocha/Pumpkin Puree (or any winter squash)

  1. Pingback: Kabocha Pumpkin Bars « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

