NYC and The Natural Gourmet Institute

Big News Readers!!! Next month I am going to New York City to attend a class at The Natural Gourmet Institute!

For those who don’t know The Natural Gourmet Institute for Health and Culinary Arts is the premier plant-based culinary school in the United States.  I am so thrilled to have the opportunity to go check it out first hand as well as learn the art of gluten-free pies, tarts and quiches from renowned chef and author Rebecca Reilly for a day. I will be in the city from November 17-20 which will leave me lots of time to check out all the amazing veggie eats the big apple has to offer as well! Please let me know if you have any suggestions of where to eat and what to order…. I can’t wait!

In honor of my forthcoming trip I thought I’d give you a peek into what I will be learning to make in my class!

 

Here’s a description of what’s to come for your vegan girlfriend:

Spend an entire day immersed in every aspect of pastry-making using a variety of gluten-free flours and starches, including bean flours, coconut, quinoa, amaranth, teff, buckwheat and arrowroot; learn how to handle pastry dough which never shrinks or toughens; use unrefined sweeteners; make dairy-free and egg-free graham crackers and fresh fruit jam; and so much more. All day, you’ll have the benefit of Rebecca’s incomparable expertise as she demonstrates pastry-making techniques and guides you through your own preparation of various crusts and luscious fillings. The Crusts: Classic Butter Pastry • Italian Pasta Frolla (Shortcrust Pastry) • Homemade Graham Cracker Crust • Lemon Sablé Crust. The Finished Pastries: Dutch Apple-Cranberry Streusel Pie • Lemon Mousse Tart • Crostata di Marmelata (Jam Tart) • Dairy- and Egg-Free French Chocolate Silk Pie • Wild Mushroom Quiche. (Organic eggs and dairy) — and don’t worry I will veganize that one lone vegetarian recipe for the blog 🙂

 

So excited!!! Hope everyone has an amazing Friday!

 

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

12 thoughts on “NYC and The Natural Gourmet Institute

  1. I can’t wait to hear how your experience goes. I’ve been eyeing some of their classes and really want to go to one. Congrats! I’m sure you will have a wonderful time.

  2. Sooo excited for you!!! So many good vegan eats in my old stomping grounds though I’m admittedly a little out of the loop since I haven’t been back since March.

    LOVE the vegetarian dim sum house in Chinatown and also some really good spots in Park Slope if you find yourself in Brooklyn.

    And yes, hightail it to Lula’s…I ate there multiple times (who says an ice cream sundae isn’t a perfectly acceptable vacation lunch?).

  3. So fun!!! I live in NYC and it’s def a great city. I am actually hoping to attend the Chef’s Program at NGI next year. I’m sure you will have an AMAZING time! Let me know if you want some great restaurant rec’s. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Vegetarian Restaurants In New York | matchmyspirit.com Blog

Leave a Reply

