Raw Vegan Brownies with Raw Chocolate Icing – Sugar Free!!!

I love my skinny girl brownies. But I also love not baking. I wanted brownies last night and I wanted them bad but didn’t want to wait for the whole oven situation… what to do what to do. I have eaten AMAZING raw vegan brownies at Kind Kreme in their raw brownie sundae calorie bomb I literally die for (we all remember my all time low of driving over an hour for this crazy concoction… or now we do).  And so, last night I was on a mish to recreate said raw vegan brownie but sans ice cream (not tryin to spend more than a minute on this dire need for a chocolate fix). This meant the genius addition of frosting so the recipe could be equally as decadent but without the fuss of making ice cream, baking, or anything more than pressing the blend button on my food processor. I adapted a few recipes I saw on the web and made a sugar-free version that takes all of 5 minutes to whip up. Rawesome. These rawmazing sugar-free brownies are seriously raw-inspiring and dangerously easy to make.

 

I fought the raw and the raw won.

Raw Vegan Brownies with Chocolate Icing

(yields 12)

(adapted from this recipe)

For brownies:

  • 1 cup pitted dates
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 heaping cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 2 droppers full of Kal liquid stevia

For icing:

  • 1 avocado, pitted with flesh scooped out
  • 2 heaping Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt plus more to taste (I like everything salty)
  • 2 tablespoons agave (or other liquid sweetener) plus more to drizzle
  • 1 dropper full Kal stevia

Brownie ingredients

Put all of the brownie ingredients in the food processor.

Process the brownie until blended and it looks kind of like soil.

Press into an 8 x 8 pan.

For the icing:

Icing ingredients

Put all icing ingredients into food processor (which I used) or vitamix blender (which will be easier and I will use next time).

Blend until till smooth.

Spread the icing on top of the brownies.

Drizzle with more agave and freeze for at least an hour.

Cut into squares and serve!

Nutritional Info (per brownie when cut into 12): 144 calories, 8.4 g fat, 2.5 g fiber, 11.8 g sugar, 2.8 g protein

Officially a raw abiding citizen.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

8 thoughts on “Raw Vegan Brownies with Raw Chocolate Icing – Sugar Free!!!

  1. Pingback: Ratatouille bake « Quintessence of Insanity

Leave a Reply

