Rhubarb Rasberry Hamantaschen

Shana Tova fellow Jews! Growing up in a non-religious Jewish family, I always allied myself culturally but not religiously to Judaism, celebrating holidays but not actively going to temple (or getting a Bat Mitzvah — terrible call in retrospect). As a result of my lax Jew roots, I got my holidays mixed up. I wanted to make a Jewish themed treat to gift to my friends breaking their fast tomorrow, and instantly I thought of hamantashen. Hamantashen are a family favorite cookie and I have memories of driving all the way to Canter’s in West Hollywood all the way from the Palisades, just to indulge in a freshly baked hamantashen. Unfortunately, I decided to do my research on these cookies post baking and found that it’s actually associated with Purim and NOT Yum Kipour. So here I am with a Jewish cookie for the wrong holiday… Oy vey.

Regardless of my goyish slip, I made a bomb batch of not so normal flavored hamantashen that are vegan, gluten and sugar free. So, Jewish or not, when you are feeling like a little nosh, these vonder-cookies will hit the spot. And if you manage to each just one… well, mazel.

 

Rhubarb Raspberry Hamantaschen
(yields 22 cookies)

  • 2 cups blanched almond flour
  • ½ teaspoon Himalayan pink salt
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil oil
  • 2 tablespoons light agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 5-6 tablespoons Rhubarb Raspberry Jam

The ingredients

In a large bowl, combine almond flour and salt.
In  a smaller bowl, combine coconut oil, agave, vanilla and water.
Mix wet ingredients into dry.
Chill dough in refrigerator for at least 1 hour and preferably overnight. Roll out dough between 2 pieces of parchment paper ¼ – ½ inch thick.
Cut dough into circles (I used the top of my coconut oil spray).

Make a light indentation with your forefinger in the center of each circle. Drop ½ teaspoon of jam into the center of each circle. Fold the dough in to create 3 sides; pinch each of the 3 corners to form a triangle shaped cookie.

Bake at 350° for 8 minutes until cookies are golden brown around the edges.

Serve!
Nutritional Info (per cookie): 81 calories, 6.4 g fat, 1.1 g fiber, 2.9 g sugar, 2.2 g protein
Yummmmmmm. Turns out my mistake might just make me a mentsh.
xoxo
Your Vegan Girlfriend
4 thoughts on “Rhubarb Rasberry Hamantaschen

  1. I have that SAME GREEN BOWL! I have a set of 4 bowls…I use it like 3x a week, or more!

    I love your goyish-a slip. I am married to a Jew, not sure what we’re doing about our 5 yr old, hubs is sooooo relaxed. I am a non practicing Catholic. But I can eat hamentaschen and talk about Queen Ester and purim with the best of em. LOL

    Yours look amazing!

Leave a Reply

