Ode to The Veggie Grill

How have I not posted on my stalker like obsession with The Veggie Grill yet?!?!?!? Recently a reader emailed me asking if I liked The Veggie Grill and I wanted to respond duhhhh look at my blog …. but then realized I have never posted about it. What the fucking fuck. Not okay. Sooooooo let’s get this party started.

The Veggie Grill has three LA locations, West Hollywood (which opened first), Santa Monica and now the Farmer’s Market.  I recently read an article on the founders of Veggie Grill in Vegetarian Times explaining that most people who eat at VG don’t know it’s vegan…. genius. It really is the perfect place to take your vegan-skeptical friends.

 

I used to drive all the way to Redondo before VG opened in WeHo like three years ago when I first made the switch to veganism. It was like the biggest treat evah not to mention quite the commitment to eating a vegan burger and mac and cheese. Once you eat at Veggie Grill you will understand why.

Okay so what are my must orders?

My fav order here is their All Hale Kale Salad. This salad is my favorite kale salad I have ever had, ever. That’s a huge claim coming from kale-diva herself, but I mean it. This salad is pure perfection. I always order it with tempeh on top when I get it for dinner.

All Hale Kale - marinated kale and red cabbage, roasted corn salsa, agave roasted walnuts with a ginger-papaya vinaigrette (added tempeh)

I like to save the walnuts for last and eat them like dessert. Seriously, I dare you to find a better kale salad in LA. DARE YOU.

My burger favorite here is def the Sante Fe Crispy Chicken. If you are new to the VG or veganism, I highly suggest you try this pup out.

Santa Fe Crispy Chickin' - Crispy friend chillin' chickin', lettuce, tomato, red onion, avocado, southwestern spiced vegan mayo (aka CRACK) and a side - Swetheart Fries

Dude this burger is so good and so “chikin-ey” you will be shocked that something so naughty could actually be so nice. Their chipotle mayo is seriously crack. I order sides of it “to go” every time I come here even if I just get the salad and dip my tempeh into it. And sweetheart fries are my fav side and not to be missed. Clearly I dip those in the sauce too.

 

Their mac n cheese, carrot cake and secret off the menu “buffalo wings” are also incredible. I’ve never had a VG order I wasn’t wowed with.

If you haven’t eaten here drop everything and drive to the nearest Veggie Grill immediately. This is basically an emergency … You cannot go wrong with any order so giddy up and get to it. Think I might need this now.

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

2 thoughts on “Ode to The Veggie Grill

  1. Pingback: Native Foods « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. Pingback: Vegan Buffalo Wings!!!! Now at The Veggie Grill. « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

