My Favorite Gluten Free Products

Happy weekend everyone! So sorry I have been MIA on the posts this week. A lot of life stuff has been going on for me so priority wise the bog got demoted a bit. Have no fear though … treats are on their way.

I got such a great response to my favorite dairy substitutes post I thought I would follow it up with a fav Gluten Free products list. Even if you are not celiac, I highly recommend eating gluten-free. Gluten is a protein that our body is unable to digest and can leave you feeling bloated and heavy. Eliminating gluten grains is so simple and with these easy product switches you won’t feel like you are giving anything up. I LOVE carbs so fear not bread enthusiasts … help is on the way.

 

1. Tinkyada Brown Rice Pasta

This is the only gf vegan pasta I like. A lot of gluten free pastas come out mushy and gross, but all of the pastas in the Tinkyada brand aren’t mushy and taste exactly like regular pasta. I always cook gf pasta a few minutes less than it says on the package to ensure that al dente taste. No excuse to eat regular processed pasta again.

2. Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

For all muh bakers out there – recipes calling for flour can now be subbed with this wonder product. It’s a blend of garbanzo flour, potato starch, tapioca flour, sorghum flour, and fava flour, and it does an excellent job in smaller baked goods like cookies, scones, muffins, and quick breads. Bob’s also has an entire line of gluten free products and I love and use almost all of them.

 

3. Mary’s Gone Crackers

Mary’s has a whole line of gf products but their signature product is their crackers. A delish mix of organic brown rice, organic flax seed, organic quinoa and organic sesame seeds, these cracks come in five tasty flavors: Original, Caraway, Herb, Black Pepper, and Onion. I enjoy them all but am partial to Original, especially with a healthy dollop of peanut butter spread on top. Mmmm peanut butter – wait what were we talking about?

 

4. Food For Life Brown Rice Tortillas

Food For Life’s unique wheat and gluten free tortillas are shockingly moist, delicious and easy to use. There are six tortillas in a resealable package and are only 130 calories a pop. I use these for wraps and when I want to make quesidillas or any other Mexican inspired dish and am never let down. High quality and highly delicious.

 

5. Multi Grain Puffins

I’ve already dedicated an entire post about my love for this cereal, but it seemed wrong not to include it in my favorites list. This gluten-free, multi-grain cereal is made of corn, brown rice and whole oats, and is free of artificial flavors, preservatives and additives. The crunchy squares are slightly sweet and hold their shape and texture in almond or rice milk. I go through a box every few days… whoops.

6. Van’s Gluten Free Waffles

I don’t have a waffle maker at home so eating vegan and gluten free waffles used to be but a dream. That was til I discovered this line of amazing vegan and gluten free waffles that will make you leggo your eggo addiction. They offer a variety of flavors such as natural, blueberry, apple cinnamon, buckwheat, flax and even come in minis!

 

7. Coconut Aminos

This soy free and wheat free soy sauce alternative is completely raw and MSG free. This is a rather new discovery for me and I’ve been using it up the wazoo lately. This product also contains 17 amino acids which are the building blocks of all proteins making this a much healthier soy sauce alternative on all fronts. Coconut Aminos have a salty flavor with a slightly, just barely, sweet aftertaste. Yum.

 

8. S’moreables Graham Crackers

These tasty little grahams are like a cross between cookies and graham crackers.  They are indeed, S’moreable (adorable and devourable).  Nice branding guys. One amazing thing about them is that they are a little tougher than the “real” thing and they don’t crumble when you press a hot vegan marshmallow down on the chocolate whilst making a vegan smore.  Me likey.

9. Amy’s Rice Pasta Mac N Cheese

Made with daiya, this mac n cheese is seriously better than the real thing. In addition to being vegan and gluten free, it’s also soy free so even the most intensely allergy prone peeps out there can enjoy their cheesy fix. Garsh I love this. No longer have the blue box blues….

 

10. Amy’s Rice Crust Spinach Pizza

Amy’s rice crust spinach pizza includes mozzarella and ricotta-style soy “cheeze,” along with a crust based on organic sweet rice flour, organic potatoes and organic tapioca. I love this when I’m craving pizza and too lazy to whip up my own crust with Bob’s Red Mill packaged crust mix, or drive to Z Pizza or Fresh Brothers for a vegan gluten free alternative.

 

So lovely readers, with these easy swaps for your typical gluten containing products, you too can transition to a more gluten free lifestyle. I promise you will notice the benefits and nevah go back to eating wheat again.

Is there anything you miss since going gluten free? Anything you feel like you couldn’t live without that’s keeping you from making the switch? Let me know!

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

11 thoughts on “My Favorite Gluten Free Products

    • Oh no!! I should have put a warning cause I eat honey 😦 I haven’t tried these but they are 100% vegan and gluten free (the cinnamon squares are their version of graham crackers) Sorry girlfriend, hope this other suggestion helps! xo

  1. Pingback: But I Have Trimps…. « The Jolly Fox

  2. girl, i was wondering what those puffy things you were eating in class were! now i know! barbara’s’ puffins! i’m so stoked. i used to love one of their cereals… and guess what? i totally brought amy’s GF mac and cheese to class today! nummy. it’s even better made in a toaster oven.

    also, i really love the quinoa-based pastas and trader joe’s actually has a decent GF pasta, the twirly kind (fusilli) is my favorite. 🙂

    love your site *so* much! do you have a facebook page for it?

  3. I had no idea Amy’s made a gluten-free and dairy-free mac n’ cheese. Should have expected that from them. I don’t eat macaroni or cheese very often, but it sounds like something I should keep on hand for a cold Winter night.

  4. Pingback: Vegan MoFo and the XGFX Survey « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  5. Pingback: Enjoy Life Chewy Bars! « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

