Creamed Kale

Kale is one of my favorite vegetables. I’m no stranger to getting intimate with this superfood and massaging the heck out of it to yield a tender wilted bowl of joy. However, I can only eat the same massaged kale salad so many times before I yearn for a new way to enjoy my greens. Last night, I was a-yearnin. I started browsing through my Whole Foods app (yes they have an app and yes of course I’m into it) and came across their recipe for creamed kale. Ahhh! Creamy dreamy kale fixed thanksgiving style? You betcha. I’m a huge fan of creamed spinach (or at least I was before I stopped eating dairy) so I was eager to recreate the traditional dairy filled sauce. In my recipe, cashews and almond milk combine to create the base spiked with my favorite nooch for some cheesy flavor. With some minor alterations to the WFM recipe, I had the perfect side dish in no time. Trust me, you won’t ever make creamed spinach again.

Creamed Kale

(serves 6)

(Adapted from a Whole Foods Market recipe)

  • 3 bunches lacinato kale, stemmed and chopped
  • 1/2 cup low sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup raw cashews, soaked for 2 hours
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon mellow white miso
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

The ingredients!

Heat broth in a pot over medium heat. Add onion and cook for approx 7 minutes until onion has softened.

Transfer to a vitamix (or food processor) and add the rest of the ingredients except the kale. Blend until smooth.

Transfer blended mixture back to pot and simmer over medium heat.

Add the kale and stir well, tossing often until kale is tender, approx 5 – 7 minutes.

Serve!

Not only was this lick the bowl good, it was ready in under 20 minutes. I love nutrient dense recipes that I can cook in a flash. Yay WFM you have come to the rescue again!! Guess I already know what I’m bringing to Thanksgiving this year…

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

3 thoughts on “Creamed Kale

  1. Besides eggplant I also love kale. But I am talking about the raw kale. Many Americans are becoming raw vegans. Here is how Whole Foods in Philaldelphia (on South St) sells raw kale in the salad bar. They have raw kale with tahini on it. Tahini is sesame seed butter and some places sell raw tahini.

    Now there is something so great about this combination. Get in muh belly! It could not be simpler to make.

  2. Hey thanks for the good base recipe ! I have some food allergies with soy and most nuts so I had to modify it a bunch but it worked like a charm. I ended up making the cream sauce with unfiltered home made coconut milk (sweetened w/raw honey) and a little veggie broth bouillon. Let me know if you’d like the recipe I’ll gladly post it !

Leave a Reply

