Spicy Wasabi-Soy Glazed Eggplant

By now it’s no secret that I have a sick obsession with all things eggplant. It may or may not be getting a little out of hand. It’s not like I haven’t made anything other than eggplant in the past few weeks, it’s just none of those things have been blog worthy. I’m so picky about what I post here, unless it’s crazy good it doesn’t make the cut. Sadly nothing I’ve made lately has gotten me supah excited. Nothing except this recipe right here. And yes, it’s eggplant. And yes it’s amazing. And yes I ate the whole recipe. Clearly, I am on the fast track to becoming the aubergine queen.

Spicy Wasabi-Soy Glazed Eggplant

(serves 4)

  • 1 medium eggplant, ends trimmed and cut into 1/2 sized chunks
  • olive oil cooking spray
  • 2 tablespoons mirin, or other rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce, or nama shoyu
  • 4 tablespoons Marinade Bay Wasabi & Soy marinade/grilling sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper
  • salt

Chop the eggplant into 1/2 inch sized chunks. Sprinkle with salt and let sit for 30 minutes. Rinse and drain the eggplant using paper towels to squeeze out any extra moisture.

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and let the eggplant marinate for at least 30 minutes and up to a couple of hours, strain, and reserve the sauce. Spray a grilling pan lightly with olive oil spray. Add eggplant and saute on high, stirring often, until eggplant is well cooked and brown on all sides.

Add the marinade and cook an additional minute or so. Remove from heat and serve. This recipe is actually even better a few hours later when the flavors have really melded. Mmmmmmm mmmmm eggplant.

Nutrition Facts (per serving): 100 calories, 4 g fat, 2 g protein

This super simple and satisfying side rivals any spicy eggplant dish in Chinese, Thai and Japanese restaurants sans all the typical oil and added sugar. My version is so freakin delish you might just eat the whole recipe in one sitting. Or maybe that’s just how eggplant royalty does it (read: me).

Oh and in case you’ve missed my songs I sing whilst cooking slash eating my recipes I have a special one I sang all through today’s cooking bonanza: “If you wanna eat with me, baby there’s a price to pay, I’m an aubergine-y in a bottle, gotta glaze me the right way….” (Jingle king is back. Your welcome).

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

One thought on “Spicy Wasabi-Soy Glazed Eggplant

  1. I also love eggplant. Get in muh belly. So I retweeted your tweet about it to my 26,723 Twitter followers. Many are vegan and many do yoga. Are there any vegans or people who do yoga in Santa Monica? I had to look up aubergine to see that it means eggplant. You already are the aubergine princess! The superstitious people say not to eat eggplant because it is a deadly nightshade plant. Other nightshade plants include potatoes and tomatoes.

    These 2 are the most commonly used vegetables in the country (tomatoes in ketchup and spaghetti sauce). The reason that they say this is because tobacco is a nightshade plant and all the nightshade plants contain nicotine! But there are many healthy vegetables like lima beans that naturally contain a little cyanide.

    I have been doing yoga since I was 12 years old. Until a few months ago I lived my whole life in Philadelphia. Now I live in Arizona just 5 hours from Los Angeles. I was born in NYC since my mother taught ballet at Jouliard’s school of peforming arts.

    Have people in California heard the latest about vitamin D? Moores Cancer Center (in CA) is proposing that cancer is a vitamin D deficiency. The doctor of public health there (also professor of medicine at U of CA), Cedric Garland, says that enough vitamin D (lifeguard levels) will virtually eradicate breast cancer!

    In last 3 years, 6 MDs wrote 6 books on vitamin D and Garland was NOT one of them. The RDA of vitamin D was tripled in 2010. In 2007 Time Magazine chose vitamin D as one of top 10 medical breakthroughs of the year. Vitamin D cured rickets decade ago.

Leave a Reply

