Baba Ganoush – lower fat and oil free!

As promised I am now going to share with you my baba ganoush recipe. It’s super simple and takes a minute to whip up once you’ve roasted your eggplant. A lot of super market versions of baba use mayo and yogurt in their recipes which we all know mama don’t play with. My version manages to be creamy without the use off added dairy or oil. Like my sweet potato hummus recipe, I add no oil whatsoever and used only a moderate amount of tahini, so if you are used to more traditional versions feel free to adjust according to your tastes.

Baba Ganoush (serves 6 as large portions)

1 large eggplant
1 teaspoon salt
2 cloves garlic
juice of half of a lemon
2 tablespoon tahini (or more to taste)
1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

Preheat oven to 425 F. With a fork, punch a bunch of holes in the eggplant and place it on a baking dish or sheet. Cook for about 45 minutes, until the eggplant is all sunken in.

Remove from the heat and let it cool until you can peel it safely. Peel about 80 percent of the skin off and put it in a food processor.

Add the salt, garlic, lemon juice, and tahini, and process until it’s smooth.

Serve sprinkled with cumin and surrounded by the vegetables of your choice.

I love using baba as a topping or dressing for salads, dipping veggies in and even as a chunky sauce of quinoa and other grains. When I served this at my friend’s potluck we all dipped raw carrots, cucumbers, broccoli and cauliflower in it, along with plantain and pita chips. Yum! What a healthful and light appetizer.

Nutrition Facts: (per serving) 57 calories, 3 g fat, 2 g protein

In the words of Larry David, “preeeeeeety preeeeety preeeeeeeeety good.”

I love eggplant so much I think I am going to make another eggplant spread today for lunch. Eggplant pesto perhaps? Do you have any eggplant must make recipes?

Also tonight I am going to a fun vegan blogger meetup dinner at Cafe Gratitude. So excited! Can’t wait to see if having dinner with three other complete strangers, who the only thing we have in common is that we are all vegan, is totally awesome or totally awkward. Taking bets.

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

 

4 thoughts on “Baba Ganoush – lower fat and oil free!

  1. Eggplant is one of my all-time fave veggies but I’m not that great at making it. The one eggplant dish I can do decently is a really simple broiled eggplant “steak” with garlic butter – yummy but nothing extravagant. I just tried a Lebanese dish that’s walnut and red-pepper stuffed pickled baby eggplants – ohmahgeeshe, AMAZING!

  2. Pingback: Eggplant Pesto!!! « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

