Sweet Potato Hummus

Last night my girlfriends and I had a potluck at my friend Eden’s house. Eden lives in Silverlake and I live in Santa Monica, so I had to make something that would travel well for an hour plus ride (hate you 10 freeway traffic!). I decided to do a sweet potato hummus recipe, a twist on typical hummus I first read about on one of my favorite vegan food blogs, Choosing Raw. Adding sweet potato to the hummus really gives it both a salty and sweet taste, making it incredibly filling and satisfying with out adding a ton of calories. I also made a lower fat baba ganoush recipe, which I’ll share with you all soon. Two dips plus pita and plantain chips and veggies and I felt like I had a solid contribution to the ladies Friday night potluck.

Typically hummus has about 80 calories for 1 oz. Hold up, 1 oz???? That’s only two tablespoons and I have NEVER eaten less than half a cup when I get down. So clearly I had to make some adjustments to a traditional recipe. My version is oil free and has significantly less  tahini than your usual recipe, so if you are good at portion control feel free to add some back in. I don’t think it needs it though, my sweet potato hummus is mmm mmm good. So good in fact I plan to make it again tonight. Typical.

Sweet Potato Hummus

(yields approx 3 cups)

1  large sweet potato
1 can chickpeas, drained, but with the liquid reserved
2 heaping tablespoons tahini
1 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon Himalayan salt, or more to taste
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 garlic clove, minced

Optional: 1-2 teaspoons olive oil, 1-4 more tablespoons of tahini, to your taste

Bake your sweet potato and remove the skin. Cut it into chunks and stick it in your food processor.

Warm up your beans either in the microwave for 1 minute, or if you don’t do the whole nuking thing, pour the chickpeas and their canning liquid into a little saucepot and get them warm. Drain them after, but reserve the liquid. You will be using it in a minute.

Put your chickpeas and all of the other ingredients (save the bean liquid) into the food processor.

Blend. Now take about 1/4 cup of the canning liquid from the beans (it had starch in it, which will help make the hummus super delicious) and drizzle it into the food processor to create the perfect creamy texture.

Sprinkle with a little more curry powder and some paprika and serve!!

Nutritional Facts: (per 1 oz) 32 calories, 1 g fat, 1 g protein

Pretty sure my 32 calories and 1 g of fat an ounce beats any traditional hummus in stores. Feel free to leave out the sweet potato and add a few tablespoons of lemon juice for a regular version of this recipe.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend! Off to enjoy the rest of my Saturday, probably involving a lot more hummus.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Hummus

  1. Pingback: Baba Ganoush – lower fat and oil free! « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potato Recipe Round Up « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

