Nacho Cheese Sauce

The first time I experienced vegan nachos from Real Food Daily in Santa Monica, I was hooked. As I’ve gushed before, these nachos aren’t just vegan good, they are the best nachos on the planet good.

RFD's best menu item, period

What makes these puppies so incred is the unbelievable cashew cheese sauce they are smothered in. Cashew cheese sauce is undeniably crazy tasty, but also undeniably crazy high in fat and calories. Cashews are a great source of healthy fats and contain tons of beneficial nutrients, but if you eat nacho sauce like I do, you can’t really afford to go balls to the wall with the stuff. Also many friends of mine have nut allergies so I wanted to make a recipe they could enjoy as well (hi Jesi!). Most vegan cheese sauces are either nut based, soy based or super high in fat due to adding a ton of Earth Balance or other vegan butter substitutes, so even though they are vegan they are not necessarily healthy.  Here’s my version of nut-free and soy-free nacho cheese sauce that even the pickiest cheese connoisseurs will fall in love with. I mean, I did. Move ovah cashew cheese, you’ve officially met your match.

NACHO CHEESE SAUCE

(Makes just over a cup, serves approx 4)

  • 1 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • Scant 1/2 cup nutritional yeast
  • juice of half of a lemon
  • 2 scant Tablespoons white miso
  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon Himalayan salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon mustard powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon cumin

Whisk all of the ingredients together in a sauce pan.

 

Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to simmer whisking constantly until the sauce thickens. Eat.

This recipe is extra healthy due to the nutritional yeast, which if you have never used, is the best vegan sub for “cheesey” flavor I have come across. It also boasts a super high protein content fortified with B12, the one vitamin vegans have trouble getting enough of. If you are not into taking a daily b12 vitamin than look no further, just eat some cheese sauce instead. Here is the rest of the nutritional info on this creamy dreamy sauce.

Nutritional Info (per just over 1/4 cup serving): 104 calories, 2 g fat, 9 g protein.

That’s a whole lotta protein and a whole little fat for a vegan cheese sauce!!! Mission accomplished.

Tonight I enjoyed this sauce over a huge serving of steamed brocc as a side to my dinner. Hell yes.

My nacho cheese sauce would be delicious on a baked potato, on brown rice pasta for a mac n cheese dish, or served over blue corn chips for a super healthy nacho plate! The possibilities are endless when it comes to vegan cheese sauce you can and should pour on everything.

After trying this recipe I know I won’t be the only one with a “special relationship” to vegan cheese sauce. Hey, no need to closet what’s real between a woman and her cheesey love dip. Legalize it.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

13 thoughts on “Nacho Cheese Sauce

  1. Came across this looking for a cheesy recipe I can make with my little sister, who has a nut allergy… I don’t know too much about nut allergies, but are the almonds in almond milk not in play? I’ll be doing this with soy milk to be safe. Thanks for this. it looks awesome.

  2. This is an excellent recipe! I’m going to useit in a cauliflower “cheese” pie with a grated potoato crust. I’ll use it on nachos too!

    I found your website when I was searching for Socca pizza recipes. Then I happened to look in my Ethiopian cookbook and they use the same batter, but thin it down and cook it in a non-stick skillet and use it like a “flour” tortilla – how cool is that. I made one and it was fab! Since I’m trying to veer away from gluten I’m geeked! I plan on trying some of your other recipes – ranch dressing is next on the list. Thanks!!!! xoxox

  3. Eating this with chips now ^_^ I used 4 tablespoons of flour to substitute for the cornstarch, and it came out great. Very cheesy, I’d probably use a little less miso, however it is very good. I suggest using a little cheddar daiya, I wish I had some.

    • Not sure but miso is what gives it it’s amazing cheese like flavor. There are several different types which you could play around with if you have allergies to soy brown rice or the like. Keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

