Mini Oatmeal Rasin Cakes

I love oatmeal. It’s super easy to digest and provides all the carbs I need to sustain me through tough workouts or extra long mornings. Lately, however, I’ve tired of my traditional bowl of wholesome oats. I hate eating the same thing over and over again, it makes me feel seriously boring. My oatmeal brekkies have needed a serious revamp and bad. I’ve come across baked oatmeal recipes in the blogverse for some time now but until recently haven’t had a pressing reason to test out my own version. After adapting and combining ideas from a few recipes to suit my tastes I created a perfect single size option anyone can whip up in a cinch. Here’s how to turn your boring bowl of oats into a  muffin-like bite sized cake of fun.

Mini Oatmeal Raisin Cakes (serves 1)

  • 1/3 cup oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free version)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/8 cup water
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • Dropper full of KAL stevia
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons raisins
  • Coconut oil spray (to grease your muff tins)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Spray two muffin tins with coconut oil spray and evenly distribute your batter. Bake for 20 minutes. Turn up your oven to broil and bake for 5 additional minutes so the cakes get that crispy golden brown crust.

Before

After

Let cool for a few minutes and enjoy your oatmeal raisin mini cake, yaom!

Cake in ya face!

Who doesn’t love eating two little cakes for breakfast! And nutritionally, these rock too. Hope you’ve come to expect it.

Nutritional Info (for entire recipe): 217 calories, 2 g fat, 7 g protein.

Breakfast of Vegan Champions!

I’m loving simple recipes lately. Eating vegan does not need to be challenging or time consuming, especially when it comes to breakfast. Most of us don’t have a ton of time to dedicate to preparing our first meal of the day, but these cakes take a mere 25 minutes. If you are super pressed for time, cook these babies the night before and stick em in your toaster oven for a few minutes to warm them up. So simple.

Hope you all like this new and improved way to enjoy oatmeal as much as I do! Feel free to try your own mixins like bananas, chia seeds, blueberries or even chocolate chips for an awesome dessert like breakfast. The possibilities are endless so let me know what you guys come up with!!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

2 thoughts on “Mini Oatmeal Rasin Cakes

Leave a Reply

