Green Peas – casual vegan dining in Culver City

It’s been almost a year since I’ve eaten at Green Peas but I remember it being great. Green Peas, although not exclusively vegan, boasts a huge vegan menu ranging from salads, soups, sandwiches, pizzas and breakfast. It’s casual dining done vegan and done right. So this Saturday when my mom and I were deciding where to lunch, I jumped at the chance to take her to this Culver City spot I’ve been meaning to go back to for so long.

Green Peas

4437 Sepulveda Blvd
Culver City, CA 90230

Hours: Mon-Fri 6 am – 10 pm, Sat 7 am – 9 pm, Sun 8 am – 3 pm
Parking was a little tricky. We had to drive around the block a few times before something opened up and there is no lot in the back, so mentally prep for that.

Huge menu with an entire section for vegan sammies!

Green Peas’ menu is huge. They clearly mark their vegan items with a V and even have an entire section dedicated to vegan sandwiches. Almost all of their sammies however, are made with Gardein, a fake meat product that despite being insanely delish contains wheat and soy, so I try to save it for special occasions since my body doesn’t do gluten so well. Moving on from the sandwiches I eyed their long list of vegan salads but decided to go with my tride and true order – Kale.  The salad came with a choice of soup or potatoes, but after tasting their soup (you know how I love me some samples and GP delivers!) I had to get it. Creamy vegan tomato basil soup, their soup of the day, was a real gem. I also ordered a Gluten-Free Veggie Pizza to split with my mom, since just a salad was not gonna cut it.

You order from the counter, take a number and then a waiter brings you your food ala M Cafe or Native Foods. They have an outdoor section in the front of the restaurant but since it is right on busy Sepulveda my mom was not in to it. Instead we grabbed a table inside and got some cucumber water to sip while our food came. They have “spa water” you help yourself to which I totally dug.

Lots of seating and couches too!

Our food came pretty quickly and dug into the Kale. I totally loved the lemony dressing that was on the salad in the perfect proportion. The heavy handed addition of walnuts, cranberries and raisins made it almost dessert like too, which is always a plus.

Raw Kale Salad - raw kale, cranberries, raisins, tomatoes, almonds and home made lemon dressing. Side - tomato basil soup.

The salad was pretty darn good and I would def get it again. My only complaint is that I thought the portion size was a little small. There was a ton more nuts and raisins than kale so half way through the salad I was really eating forkfuls of toppings.

Loved the tomato basil soup. Super creamy and thick with a subtle Italian flavor. I slurped that suckah up pretty fast. I would def order that again, and am excited to try one of their other daily soup flavors in the future.

The gluten-free pizza was not anything to get super hyped about. On their menu it doesn’t say the pizza comes with green peppers but ours did. I don’t love green peppers (or any peppers in general) and they totally dominated all the other veggies as the primary topping. A. false advertising and B. Uck. I also wasn’t wowed by the rice crust but I’ve yet to try a gluten-free pizza crust I was super excited about, so there’s that.

Vegetable Pizza - grilled carrots, grilled zucchini, grilled eggplant, grilled red onions, pizza sauce and shredded dairy cheese (no mention of peppers in their menu's description!!)

I would try another pizza here but not that pepper explosion ever again.  My mom loved it though, so if you like peppers you might too. I did love the melted daiya though – cause who doesn’t love daiya cheese on everything.

I left Green Peas relatively pleased with my experience. I liked but didn’t love my meal. In the future items I want to check out their breakfast/brunch since they have an insane sounding vegan breakfast burrito. Will report on that soon.

If you’ve on the Westside and have never been to this vegan friendly neighborhood spot, it’s def worth checking out. If you eat gardein then I totally recommend trying one of their sandwiches since they are supah yummy. Salads and soups are consistently bomb here too, so that’s a safe bet. Bottom line: lots and lots of vegan and gluten-free options and a good price. Into it.

Hope everyone had a great weekend! I hope I’ll finally have some free time to play around in the kitch this week, I’m dying to cook something blog worthy 🙂

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

One thought on “Green Peas – casual vegan dining in Culver City

  1. That kale salad looks so good! I’m going raw for 30 days so I’ll definitely have to try that at some point : )

Leave a Reply

