Super Healthy Snickerdoodle Blondies

My dear friend Koko recently started an amazing blog all about her life and adventures in eating and baking called Koko Likes. Koko makes the most drool worthy looking desserts I have ever seen but sadly thus far none have been vegan. Sad face. On the Fourth of July Koko hosted her annual BBQ and made the most incredible looking blondies I have ever laid my eyes on. Everyone there RAVED about them and I seriously haven’t gotten over it since.

Koko's Blondies

I have been dreaming of vegan blondies for a solid month now with a no gluten, no sugar spin. Not so surprisingly, I have had an impossible time finding any recipes that cater to my supah picky requirements for the perfect healthy blondie. Then, a few days ago, I stumbled upon this recipe for blondies, using chickpeas instead of flour as the base. I was seriously into it. With some mayjah tweaks and substitutions I managed to create a snickerdoodle version of these healthified treats that I think could stand up to Koko’s now world-famous recipe. My blondies are super gooey and fudge like, with all the flavor of a regular blondie, cept zero butter, eggs, flour or sugar. Say what??? Guess blondes do have more fun.

Super Healthy Snickerdoodle Blondies (makes 12)

(inspired by Koko’s recipe and Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe)

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 4 Tablespoons reconstituted PB2 (or you can use regular creamy peanut butter)
  • 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • scant 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cups Nu Naturals Stevia Baking Blend
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup ground flax

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine the chickpeas, peanut butter and vanilla in your vitamix or food processor and blend. Then slowly add the dry ingredients, blending until it forms a very sticky paste like consistency.

Spread evenly over a greased 8 x 8 pan. Bake for 35 minutes.

When the blondies come out of the over they will still be sort of gooey, but not to worry, they firm up once cooled but stay chewy and fudgey in the center.

I may or may not have eaten half the recipe in one sitting. I plan on eating the rest tonight. Seriously these are STOOOOOPID good. The only kind of stoopid blonde I would go bonkers for. Yum.

Now if you are not used to the taste of stevia I suggest you use brown sugar or another sweetener instead. I love the taste of stevia so I didn’t notice anything amiss with the flavor, but my mom said they tasted “stevia-y.” That’s good news for me but if it’s not for you than sub away.

Here’s the unbelievable nutritional facts for these cinnamon-sugar squares of bliss.

Nutritional Info (per blondie): 62 calories, 1.5 g fat, 2.4 g protein, 0.8 g sugar, 5.9 g fiber

I mean….. I don’t even know what to say to blondies that healthy. Oh wait, yes I do, “I’ll have another.”

If you sub brown sugar for the stevia or regular pb for the pb2 the nutritional info will be slightly altered, but not majorly. These will still be redonk healthy, fiber rich and most importantly CRAZY AMAZING.

Enjoy. I’m outtie to eat the rest of the pan.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

10 thoughts on “Super Healthy Snickerdoodle Blondies

    • Aww thank you!! So glad to have you as a reader 🙂

      Sadly you can only buy PB2 online. It’s more expensive off amazon but it will get to you faster. You can also buy it in larger quantities for much less from the pb2 website (although they may be back ordered?). Either way online is the way to go. See my peanut butter post for my thoughts on more options (better n peanut butter aint bad if you want to pick something up quick).

      xo

      • Do you have to use NU naturals stevia baking blend or can you substitute it with something else? Is it also only available online?

      • You can substitute brown sugar or regular vegan sugar for the Nu Naturals 1:1. If you want to try agave I would cut back on the other liquid about 1/3 so you get the right consistency. If you do let me know how it turns out! xo

  1. Pingback: Skinny Girl Brownies « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Dip « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

