Soy-Free Chocolate Mousse (It’s still Jewish guilt free too)

Another Sunday another blender full of chocolate mousse eaten. I was in my normal chocolate binge mode around 9 pm last night and knew something serious had to be done. I didn’t want to eat another blender full of the mousse I made last week since that did not exactly make my stomach feel amazing afterwards. It did taste outta this world good though. Dilemma.

I have heard magical things about the sea vegetable agar agar for its gelatinous like ways, so I decided to try my hands at using it as my base of my treat. For those unfamiliar with agar agar, it’s an amazing vegan gelatin substitute produced from seaweed that you can find in the Asian section of your Whole Foods (or other health food store). You typically add 1 tablespoon to every cup or so of liquid, cook it, and end up with a great thick pudding like creation. And it’s calorie free!!

My prefered brand of choice

With a couple of tries I perfected a crazy simple recipe sure to please everyone’s palate. Get ready for the Super Soy-Free AND Jewish Guilt Free Version of my mousse. It’s my mitzvah for the year.

Soy-Free Chocolate Mousse (serves 1)

  • 1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 Tablespoon Agar Agar flakes
  • 1 – 1 1/2 Tablespoons Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • A few droppers of stevia to your taste (or other sweetener)
  • A shake of two of cinnamon
  • A shake of guar gum (optional)
  • Extra almond milk to thin it out

To make your agar base combine your agar and the almond milk in a sauce pan.

Let it sit for a few minutes and then boil.When it reaches a boil turn down to simmer and cook for 8 minutes.

When it’s done cooking the mixture will still be partially liquid. Don’t worry this will change soon…

Add all the other ingredients, except the extra almond milk and blend in your vitamix.

Transfer to a bowl and put in the freezer for 5-15 minutes. When you take it our of your freezer it will be like chocolate pudding!! Sooooo cool!

If you want pudding go ahead and dig in, but if you want a creamier consistency (which I did), transfer the mixture to your vitamix and slowly add almond milk to thin down the texture. The end.

Ta da!!! Perfect soy-free chocolate mousse!!! Light, fluffy, chocolatey, and it will not leave you feeling weighed down, gross, or crashing from sugar afterwards.

Okay no get ready for the best part ever. This entire single serving of mousse is only 63 calories. Say whaaaaaa???

Nutritional Info: 63 calories, 5 g fat, 2 g protein

Unreal. Here’s the song I was singing while eating this blender full of joy: (to the tune of hollerback girl) “Uh huh this my shit all the treats drop a mousse like this.” Then I’d do a little solo dance with my spoon in through kitchen and sing “that’s my shit that’s my shit” … and over-share complete.

Okay, now I admit this does not taste as rich as my other recipe for chocolate mousse which uses tofu, but for those looking for a lower calorie option, or for those avoiding soy, this is a great choice. It’s super simple to make and let’s be real, it’s super satisfying to eat an entire bowl of chocolate. Or maybe that’s just how I roll. Either way, you gotta try this recipe out to test the agar agar base for yourself. It’s pretty science project cool.

Sorry for the lack of “real food” recipes lately. I have been swimming in homework and my time for concocting treats has been severely limited. I promise to make something meal worthy this week and stop patrolling the Whole Foods hot bar every day. Until then do like any stressed out time restricted vegan girlfriend would and eat chocolate straight out the blender. 🙂

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

5 thoughts on “Soy-Free Chocolate Mousse (It’s still Jewish guilt free too)

  1. Umm, hello amazing! I’ve got a vegan peanut butter silk pie recipe that I love, but I want to make it for my avocado-hating boyfriend, so I’ve been looking for an alternative chocolate mousse for the top layer. I think this may be it!

  2. Hi! I’m seriously a huge fan of your blog, it’s hilarious and I love it an completely loo to your for restaurant and product recommendations!
    And your absolutely GORGEOUS! (had to be noted!) but as skinny as you are I’m wondering if you completely avoid fats and calories? It just seems like your always trying to get the lowest amount, but do you always eat like that? Fats and calories are good especially if you are active!

    • Thanks so much for reading and thanks for the compliment!

      I def don’t completely avoid calories or fat! That would be not only impossible but leave me one hangry mean and starving vegan gf. Since I like to eat a lot (a volume eater shall we say) I try to make recipes at home that aren’t crazy caloric because I rarely stick to just one serving. I have dessert almost every night so when I make treats I really look to make healthy versions cause this can be a black hole of extra calories (let’s be real, who doesn’t binge out on chocolate). When I go out to eat, however, all bets are off. If you look at any of my restaurant reviews you can see I pretty much go balls to the wall with my ordering when someone else is doing the cooking. Hope that clears it up 🙂 Believe me, this girl can eat!

  3. Haha that’s great to hear! I’m pretty mch the same! But I’m a SERIOUS chocolate binger (gotta fix that I guess!) thanks so much for the amazing posts! I’m now dying to go to whole foods and see if they sell fermented veggies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

