Sautéed Mushrooms

A recipe for sautéed mushrooms seems pretty much like a no brainer. I mean, you can’t really fuck it up. I’m a little embarrassed to even post this “recipe” since it’s about the easiest thing ever, but I want to share what I love eating with you all, and believe me I LOVE these mushrooms. I have been known to go to the Whole Foods Market Mexican counter pretty much daily to get a little grab and go container of freshly sautéed mushies. En route I may or may not sing, “Oh do you know the mushroom man the mushroom man the mushroom man, oh do you know the mushroom man who lives on Whole Foods lane!!!!” (Seriously, writing jingles in my next life).

As much as I love my near daily WFM trips, my wallet does not. Paying $3.00 for a few bites of mushrooms is pretty silly slash ridiculous. Making them yourself is not only more economical (clearly) but tastier and less fattening. Here’s how to turn 4 ingredients and 15 minutes into yum yum mushroom bum.

Arielle’s Sautéed Mushrooms

(serves 2 or 1 Vegan GF)

  • 1 Tablespoon soy-free Earth Balance (or more if you like it real buttery)
  • 1 package Baby Bella Mushrooms (any mushrooms will work here, try a mix!)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Scant 1/4 cup Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • Onion Powder and/or Garlic Powder

Ingredients

Melt Earth Balance over medium heat in a large pan. Add garlic and saute for 2 minutes.

Add sliced mushrooms, stir to coat, and cook for about 5 minutes.
Drizzle the Braggs into the mushrooms. Sprinkle with garlic powder and onion powder.
Continue cooking over medium heat for about 10 minutes or until the mushies are cooked to your liking. Donezo!
I eat these like candy, fo real. I don’t know why mushrooms are like the most satisfying thing to me, but they are. So “meaty,” flavorful, and savory but not loaded with oil and butter. Just de way I like it. Check out the nutrient but not calorie dense nutrition.
Nutritional Facts: 70 calories, 5.5 g fat, 1.5 g fiber, 0 g sugar, 5 g protein.
I don’t know how I don’t make these everyday. They are seriously so simple to whip up and SOOOOOOO good. I wish I could eat nothing but mushrooms, eggplant, broccoli and kale. And veggie burgers. Oh wait, and chocolate. So basically a lot of stuff. Awesome. The end.
xoxo
Your Vegan Girlfriend



7 thoughts on “Sautéed Mushrooms

  1. YAY YAY YAY! Finally. You may not have thought it was important to post this recipe, but I feel like I’ve struck gold. See, I need to convert Paula Deen’s recipe for Mashed Potatoes with sauteed mushrooms (being the ultimate butter fest that it is) into somethign my vegan friends can eat. Since I have absolutely no experience using fake butter, I really was googling “how to saute mushrooms for vegans”. Haha… Anyway, THANK YOU.

Leave a Reply

