Gluten-Free Grain Veggie Burgers

Yesterday was a ridiculously busy day for me. I had school in the morning and then proceeded to do all my research for a final paper in the afternoon. Then I went to a doctor’s appointment and then straight to the gym while stuffing my face with food. (Note: this was a terrible call and I ended up having the worst workout ever since I had cramps the whole time. Ugh.) The thing about being back in school after years in the real world is …. I actually like it. I never thought I would love writing papers, taking notes, reading assigned reading and the like again, but I seriously do. It’s honestly a great outlet for my neurotic a-type tendencies that normally end up being exhausted on something as absurd as making the perfect veggie burger. Oh wait, I still do that too.

So what could be a better ending to insanely crazy day than making an insanely good veggie burger? Nothing. One could say that my obsession with veggie burgers is getting a little out of hand, a little obsessive even. Yes, one could say that. But after tasting these über healthy gluten-free grain burgers I doubt you’ll be too worried about my manic patty making ways. Bomb is an understatement. Get ready for the gluten-free gold.

Gluten-Free Grain Veggie Burgers (serves 7)

(Adapted from Kimberly Snyder’s Beauty Detox Solution)

  • 1/2 cup dry millet
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 3 cups spinach, finely chopped
  • 2-3 stalks celery, finely minced
  • 5 small carrots (or 2 big ones), finely minced
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Himalayan pink salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Cumin
  • 1 cup Amaranth Flour
  • Coconut Oil Cooking Spray

The ingredients

Soak your millet for at least a few hours and up to overnight. Rinse and strain your millet well. Add water to a pot and boil. Then add your millet, stirring until it boils again. Reduce to simmer and cover. Cook for 15-20 minutes or until millet fluffs a bit. Set aside to cool.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

In a food processor (my preferred way of chopping) or by hand, chop your celery, carrots and spinach and set aside. All of these ingredients can go in the same bowl.

Finely chop your onion and put that in a separate bowl.

Generously coat a large sautee pan with coconut oil spray. Add your minced garlic and sautee a few minutes over medium heat.

Add your onions and sautee over medium heat until onions are translucent.

Yes this pic is blurry, but hey sometimes it's hard to cook and photograph at the same time.

Add the celery, carrots and spinach and cook for another two minutes.

Add the salt and cumin and mix well.

Add your cooked millet and mix until well combined.

This is not well combined yet... but you know what that looks like. I hope...

Remove from heat. Taste and adjust the seasonings to your preference. Add the amaranth flour and mix until well combined.

Spray a parchment paper lined baking sheet with coconut oil spray. Form your mixture into 7 equal patties and place on the baking sheet.

I experimented with baking times with the seventh patty that's why there are only six on the sheet.

Bake for 15 minutes or so on each side, or until burgers are golden and crispy on the edges.

If you remember to spray your parchment paper your baking sheet will look less scary than mine did. Whoops!

I enjoyed my first burger right out the oven just like I like I eat my Bistro Burgers. These burgers are super simple, healthful, delish, and filling without weighing you down. Perfectionism personified! HOORAY!

Then came burger number two…

Veggie Burger Salad? Yes please!

Once you peep the nutrition facts for these crazy healthy burgers you won’t worry about having seconds too.

Nutrition Facts per burger: 130 calories, 1.8 g fat, 3.9 g fiber, 4.5 g protein

Pretty freakin awesome. And with no textured soy protein or any other gnarly culprits I usually eat begrudgingly in my store-bought burgers, these are pretty much a home run. Dr. Prager and Amy better watch their backs.

Glad my vegan perfectionist qualities went to good use, in burger form but of course. Even though we got a rough start, your vegan burgers and Your Vegan Girlfriend seem to be quite the match made in heaven. It can only get better from here. Here’s to hoping all my crazy days end in crazy good dinners (cause you know I won’t settle for anything less) …

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Grain Veggie Burgers

  1. I always think eating before a workout is a good idea… until about 20 minutes in. So, I’m totally there with you! The only thing I can eat beforehand is smoothies. Does the trick, with no pain! Love the burgers 🙂

Leave a Reply

