Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers

Last night the impossible happened. I made a veggie burger I actually liked.

Photo credit: Ashley of The Edible Perspective

For those of you who have been reading my blog for the past few weeks you know I’ve been pretty much at my wits end about all the veggie burger fails I’ve had in the kitchen. So this morning when I was catching up on some of my favorite blogs, I took it as a direct order from the food goddess herself when I saw a scrumptious looking veggie burger recipe from The Edible Perspective care of one of my favorite bloggers, Angela, at Oh She Glows. Yay for other food bloggers who know more about making burgers than I do (which let’s be real, is pretty much all of them). With a few changes to suit my taste preferences I was in the money and ready to get down with some delicious burger goodness. Praise de lord.

Sweet Tater Black Bean Burgers (adapted from this recipe care of The Edible Perspective)

(yields 8 burgers, gluten-free!)

  • 15 oz black beans, drained + rinsed
  • 3 cups sweet potatoes cubed in 1 inch thick cubes (2 medium potatoes for me)
  • 1/2 cup fresh white corn, cooked
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 6 T rolled oats, partially ground
  • 2 T sunflower seeds
  • 1 t Himalayan pink salt
  • 1 T cumin
  • 1 t oregano
  • 1 T olive oil

The ingredients!

Cut your sweet potato into 1 inch chunks.

Steam your potatoes until fork tender, which was about 9 minutes for me.

Prepare your quinoa by soaking for at least ten minutes (ideally overnight) and then rise well.

Add your rinsed quinoa to a pot over medium heat and toast for about two minutes, stirring. (I used 1/2 dry quinoa which makes way more than half a cup cooked but I wanted leftovers to experiment with.)

Add double the amount of water to the amount of quinoa you used (I used a cup). Turn heat up to medium high and bring to a boil. Once boiling, stir, reduce heat to simmer and cover with the lid. Cook for 15 minutes and do not stir or open the lid! Turn off the heat and move pot to another burner a let sit for 5 minutes. Uncover with a fork and fluff. Perfect quinoa done!!

Once the quinoa and sweet potatoes are finished cooking, pre-heat your oven to 375.

In a food processor pulse your cooked sweet potato until mashed but NOT pureed or smooth.

 

Add the potatoes to a bowl and stir in the salt, cumin, oregano and olive oil until combined.

In your food processor pulse half of the beans paste-like.

Combine the mashed beans with the non-mashed beans to the sweet potatoes.

Wash and dry your food processor and add the rolled oats, pulsing until they are mostly ground but not completely flour. (Texture is what holds these babies together).

Add that to the potatoes and beans along with the onion, garlic, cooked quinoa, and sunflower seeds, stirring until just combined.

 

Now is the time to adjust the seasonings to your liking. I always add more salt to everything so I did.

Separate your batter into 8 equal parts and form into patties. I used this awesome patty maker I got at Bed Bath and Beyond to help me get that perfect patty look.

Place your burgers on a parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake each side for 15 minutes flipping once half way through.

Before

After

You can serve as is and they will be totally delicious, but I grilled them for a minute or two on each side right before serving.

Adding Cheddar Diaya Cheese makes for a great vegan cheese burger variation!

Enjoy!!! I ate these with an entire pan of sautéed mushrooms, a green salad and some asparagus. It was kind of the perfect dinner especially since I was so famished having just returned home from a long workout. Enjoy yours like I did, or on a vegan bun with all the fixins!

For enquiring minds here’s how the nutrition stacks up.

Nutrition Facts per burger: 138 calories, 3 g fat, 4.1 g fiber, 3.5 g sugar, 5.6 g protein

So tonight I can finally rest knowing I ate one good homemade veggie burger this week. Don’t worry friends the quest won’t stop here. I intend to keep making vegan burgers til I find they very best, better than Amy’s Bistro Burger recipe and share it with you all. This one was really good but not the OMFG I just died and went to burger heaven freak out good I am on the hunt for. I would 10% make these again but I know I can and will do better. That’s just the kind of blogger (read: neurotic Jew) I am. Let me know if you have an all time favorite recipe or sure-fire trick to amazing gluten-free vegan burgers. I would love to know. Hope everyone is ready for the weekend, I know I am. I hope to do a lot of yoga and a lot of eating. Clearly.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

9 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers | CookingPlanet

  2. i saw these on oh she glows, too! i was thinking of making them soon, too, so it’s nice to know they taste as good as the edible perspective says 😉

    but honestly, how could a burger of sweet potato, black beans, and quinoa taste bad? 😉

  3. Pingback: Sweet Potato Recipe Round Up « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  4. Pingback: Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burger | the middle of Here

  5. Pingback: 4/6 « A Day of Vegan

Leave a Reply

