Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

I used to eat Mrs Fields like it was my job. I’d buy the packaged box of oatmeal raisin and go through the entire thing in one sitting. I would even go so far as to make special cookie trips to the mall to order chocolate chip cookies right out Fields’ oven. Now that I’m a real person and don’t have the metabolism of a twelve year old, cookies are not really part of my daily diet. Even if they were, most cookies are not vegan and ones that are have white sugar and white flour in them, ingredients I stay far away from. After the success of my Oreo Cookie Ice Cream Cake it became pretty clear my readers are into my adventures in healthy dessert making, so I thought I’d start with a cookie classic to get this cookie orgy started. My recipe is not only vegan but gluten-free, refined sugar-free and totally worth stealing the cookies from the cookie jar. Would I call these healthy? No. They are cookies. But as far as cookies go these are by far the healthiest one’s I’ve ever seen. And of course, most importantly, they taste incredible. That perfect mixture of chewy and crisp, melty and gooey inside. Cause hey, if you’re gonna do cookies you might as well do them the vegan girlfriend way.

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

(based on a Babycakes NYC recipe)

yields 14 HUGE cookies or 28 normal sized cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cups coconut oil
  • 6 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon Himilayan Pink Salt
  • 2 tablespoons pure Tahitian vanilla extract (regular vanilla extract is fine too)
  • 1 cup Turbinado Raw Sugar (if you like sweeter cookies add another 1/4 cup)
  • 2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All Purpose Baking Flour
  • 1/4 cup flax meal (finely ground flax seeds)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons xantham gum
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips (I used Whole Foods’ brand)

The ingredients!

Pre-heat the oven to 325 degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. If your coconut oil needs to be melted before you measure it, do some by placing it in a pot of very hot water for 5-10 minutes.

In a bowl mix together the coconut oil, applesauce, salt, vanilla and sugar.

In a separate bowl add the flour, flax meal, baking soda and xantham gum. Whisk together until blended.

Using an electric mixer, mix the wet ingredients and slowly add the dry until your dough is well blended.

Then add your chocolate chips and stir in with a spoon or spatula until evenly incorporated.

Spray your parchment paper lined cookie sheets with coconut oil spray. If you want normal sized cookies, use a spoon or a melon baller to scoop the dough on to your parchment paper. If you wanna go for king kong sized cookies like I did use an ice cream scooper.

Make sure you space your cookies at least an inch or so apart because these spread out like woah. If you have the space, the more the better.

Bake for 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. You can rotate the cookies at around 8 minutes if you’d like to as well. The finished cookie will be crispy on the edges but soft in the center. Perfection!

 

Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 10 minutes, and then transfer to a wire rack to let them cool completely.

My cookies were so freakin huge!

Cookies bigger than my whole hand!

I will give you guys the nutrition info for both the king kong sized version and the regular not as insane version of this recipe:

Normal Sized Cookie Nutrition Facts: 159 calories, 9 g fat (but the good kind from coconut oil!), 12 g sugar, 1.4 g protein

King Kong Sized Cookie Nutrition Facts: 319 calories, 18 g fat, 24 g sugar, 3 g protein

I def ate a king kong sized freshly baked cookie with a huge glass of almond milk for dessert and loved every second of it. No tummy ache after and no sugar crash. Dessert never felt so good. Plus, and most importantly, it tasted amazeballs. Cookie makeover complete! Mrs Fields has got some competition. And apparently after the way that I ate this guy, so does cookie monster.

In the future I would love to try this recipe again with maple syrup instead of the raw sugar but that would involve altering the dry ingredients as well which at the time was tme (too much effort). Do you all want to see a lower sugar version of these or are you happy with the stats? Let me know your thoughts! I would love to hear some suggestions or requests for my next healthy vegan dessert makeover too, so please let me know loves!! In the brilliant words of cookie monster, “Me want cookie! Me eat cookie! Om nom nom nom (said through a mouth full of food).”

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

6 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I want to try these soooo bad!! However, I may need a lower sugar version. I’m not diabetic, but I am somewhat sensitive to sugar :-/
    Wonder how it would taste subbing at least some of the sugar with stevia?

Leave a Reply

