English Toffee Oatmeal

I’ve gotten in the groove of eating oatmeal an hour before my runs for some fuel. I’ve always been a huge oatmeal fan – I used to eat instant oatmeal every single morning before school, plain, like Quaker intended. In my adulthood I’ve garnered the taste for sweeter and saltier (my two fav tastes) oatmeal varieties, and this recipe has become my go to. I use certified gluten-free oats but feel free to use any you like. My real secret ingredient here is the chia seeds. Have you hear of chia seeds? If not here is a little info:

According to Dr Oz, chia seeds have among the highest antioxidant activity of any whole food – higher than blueberries! Chia seeds are also a better source of omega-3 fatty acids than flax or fish, protecting against inflammation and heart disease. Chia seeds are  nearly as high in protein as quinoa, which is a great for us vegans looking to get alternative sources of protein, plus you don’t have to grind them up like flaxseeds to enjoy their nutritional benefits. Chia seeds  absorb ten times their weight in water which leaves you feeling full – a huge benefit for those looking for weight-loss strategies. They are also perfect for athletes because they help hydrate our bodies and slow down how fast our bodies convert carbs into simple sugars. Hooray!

So with the addition of chia I’ve really made an athlete’s perfect bowl of fuel here – or any vegan looking for a great breakfast addition. To get my perfect English toffee flavor I use Sweet Leaf’s flavored stevia which you can pick up at your local Whole Foods or online. I am obsessed with Sweet Leaf’s flavored stevia – my favorites are the aforementioned English Toffee, Chocolate and Vanilla Cream. YUM!!!!!!!I add these to oatmeal, smoothies, ice cream and the like all de time.

Okay on to the recipe! Here is how I like to enjoy my daily bowl of delicious fuel providing oats!

English Toffee Oatmeal (serves 1)

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (Bob’s Red Mill makes great gluten-free oats yay!)
  • 2/3 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • A few shakes of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon Himalayan pink salt
  • 1 dropper full of Sweet Leaf English Toffee Stevia
  • 1 cup almond milk (optional – but I like to eat my oats like cereal)

Ingredients

In a pot boil your water. Once it is boiling add the oats and salt and stir until it boils again. Then reduce your heat to simmer and cover. Cook for about 6-8 minutes. After, turn heat back up to high, uncover your pot of oats and stir over high heat until the water is absorbed. Transfer to a bowl and get ready for the mix-ins! Add your chia, cinnamon, stevia and more salt to taste if needed.

If you like your oats plain, eat away! I love eating my oats like cereal so I add a cup of unsweetened almond milk and savor the hot and cold temperatures in my sweet sugar-free bowl of bliss.

Energy for hours in a bowl!

Here are the killer nutrition facts: 172 calories, 4.9 g fat, 8 g fiber, 6.8 g protein, 0.8 g sugar

This is such a quick and simple recipe but it yields such incredible results! I big bowl of pillowy sweet and savory oats that gives me enough energy and stamina to last for hours at the gym or on my runs. Hollllerrrrr.

Hope you all enjoy this oatmeal recipe. Let me know how you like it! What do you eat for pre-workout fuel? Dying to know!!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

