Low Sugar Lean Green Smoothie

I am about to have a goddamn anxiety attack because I had another recipe fail tonight. Three for mothaflippin three. ARE YOU KIDDING ME. I seem to be cursed in the veggie burger department so I’m gonna give it a rest for a while. Thank god for recipe staples like my Mashed Faux-tatoes and Kabocha Squash that are easy to throw together when I still have it in me to make food after a fail. So sadly no amazing dinner recipe to bring you BUT I do have a new and improved version of my daily green smoothie I’ve been absolutely LOVING.

My  lean green smoothie recipe is bomb but I wanted to take it to the next level. My notes for improvement were these: lacking in my all-star fav ingredient, kale, and too much fruit sugar due to three diff kinds of fruit in it, including the high glycemic but totally smoothie-rific banana. So with a few weeks of tinkering and some trial and errors I have made a new superstar version of my morning must have. If you drink this every morning you will def get the coveted vegan glow. Promsies.

Low Sugar Super Green Smoothie (serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups filtered water
  • 1 romaine lettuce heart, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 bag spinach
  • 1 cup dinosaur kale, stemmed and chopped
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • 1 green apple
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 5 or so shakes of powdered KAL stevia (if you use another brand or liquid stevia adjust this to your taste)
  • 1 heaping teaspoon Sun Warrior Ormus Super Greens Powder (optional)

The green drink ingredients

Add water, romaine, kale and spinach to your vitmaix and blend. Once liquid add the celery and apple and blend again. Finally add the stevia and super greens powder. Blend and enjoy!

All blended and ready to drink!

This technically serves two but with the nutrition info as follows, feel free to drink the whole blender-full…. and then another.

Nutrition Info: (per 1 serving – recipe serves 2) 97 calories, 0.3 g fat, 6.5 g fiber, 10.7 g sugar, 4 g protein

I seriously drink this every single morning without fail. It stays good in the fridge for a few days just cover your cup well with plastic wrap or the like and remember to mix it all up before enjoying. It tends to settle which sometimes I like – I eat half with a spoon and drink the rest. This smoothie leaves me energized for hours! Healthier and better tasting than any cup of caffeine laden energy drink I’ve ever had. So start your day off right and get yo greens!

Breakfast!

What do you all love to have first thing in the morning? Let me know your morning meals look like and if you want to see any other special versions of my lean green smoothie!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

6 thoughts on “Low Sugar Lean Green Smoothie

  1. Hi There!! Is there some other green that can replace Kale? I tryed it and not sure if im allergic or what but it made my throat get all itchy…just wondering what you would recommend..thanks

  2. does this taste too “green”? i love my smoothies, but i’m not sure that one apple could cut the flavor of kale for me..and yes, please more smoothie recipes!

Leave a Reply

