Oreo Cookie Ice Cream Cake

My friend just had his 26th birthday and I wanted to make him something super special and of course edible to celebrate another year of being awesome. When I tried to inquire about his favorite desserts  I was left with a sad “ice cream sundae” response, which clearly would not do. So I saw his ice cream and raised him an ice cream cake (I play hard ball). But what kind of cake to make I thought to myself…. well the food gods smiled upon me when I strolled through Bed Bath & Beyond and saw these babies on sale for under ten bucks:

These jumbo sized oreo cookie cake pans made it abundantly clear what my mission was. I chose to accept it. And yes I made an enormous ice cream cookie cake that was of course vegan, wheat free, soy free and refined sugar-free. Sounds too good to be true and potentially very scary I know, but your girlfriend’s got your back. You would never know this cake was vegan let alone not jammed packed with sugar and yummy gluten. Here’s the secret to a non-sugar-coma inducing decadence your taste buds and tummy will rejoice in devouring.

Oreo Cookie Ice Cream Cake

(Chocolate Cake adapted from the Real Food Daily Cookbook)

  • 3 cups barley flour
  • 3/4 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup instant decaf coffee powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon pink salt
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 cups maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 container So Delicious Cookies and Cream Coconut Milk Ice Cream
  • 10 Newman’s Own wheat-free oreo-esque sandwich cookies

The ingredients!

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease your pans with coconut oil and set aside.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk together.

In a separate bowl combine wet ingredients and whisk with an electric mixer.

Gradually add the dry to the wet mixture whisking with the electric mixer.

 

Next, evenly distribute the batter into you two cake pans. Bake for 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center. Remove the cakes from the oven and let cool for twenty minutes.

Flip the cake upside down onto a plate to begin to assemble the ice cream layer.

Allow your ice cream to melt outside of the freezer until its super easy to scoop. Now your ready for the magic to begin. Scooping thin layer begin to layer your ice cream evenly over the bottom layer of the cake until it is covered. One carton is just enough!

Crush or crumble about ten cookies over the ice cream layer.

Top with the top layer of the cake.

Immediately put in the freezer for at least an hour. After the cake is good and frozen, decorate anyway you like. Chocolate sauce, frosting or more oreos would be perfect! I wrote “Bro-eo” where the writing should be on the classic cookie in chocolate chips, but sadly they fell of en route to my destination and I did not get a picture of my creative genius. Wah wah. Serve your healthy cookie cake monstrosity and squeal with joy knowing you just made a cake that you can actually feel good about eating. Can I get an amen?!!?

Happy Bday MoBro!

The birthday boy and I quickly devoured two huge slices! I’m pretty sure he said “you would have no idea this was vegan!” (Smile). Present success! Mission accomplished! Zero food coma while indulging in an enormous ice cream cookie cake!!! – HUGE WIN!!!!!!!!

I had seconds. He did not. What.Ever. Excuses to eat homemade relatively guilt-free cake are not a dime a dozen, but now, thanks to my recipe, they can be. Next venture – red velvet version of this bad boy. So who’s got a birthday coming up HUH? Go shorty it’s ya birthday I’m gonna bakey like it’s your birthday we’re gonna eat cakey like it’s your birthday and you know we don’t give a fuck cause it’s your birthday!! (Quitting my day job to become a jingle writer any day now….)

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

15 thoughts on “Oreo Cookie Ice Cream Cake

  1. oh my god – a) that cake looks AMAZING and b.) the step-by-step process does not seem scary. i’m SOOOOO doing thing for the next birthday coming up. thank you so much for posting!! you just made my day 🙂

  2. Hi, this looks like a great recipe but you say “You would never know this cake was vegan let alone not jammed packed with sugar and yummy gluten.” Are you aware that barley is a gluten grain? Same as wheat. You use barley in the recipe plus it’s the first ingredient in the Newman’s cookies. Wouldn’t want us gluten-free folks to get too excited over your cake extravaganza 🙂

    • Hi Cyndi! I do know that barley is a gluten grain but I personally only have an intolerance to wheat and not all gluten grains which is why I occasionally use them in my recipes. This cake was also a birthday gift so I didn’t want to shock my non-vegan friend with something TOO healthy even though that would have been my preference 🙂 If you want to make this cake gluten free you can easily sub Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking Flour (Gluten-Free) for the barley flour, and K-Toos makes a great vegan gluten-free oreo-esue cookie you can use instead of the Newmans. Easy peasy and now all the gluten-free folk CAN get too excited 🙂 Thanks for the feedback!!
      xo Arielle

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  4. Pingback: Ontario Barley. That’s Right. | Ontario's Own – Pure & Simple

  5. girl this looks AMAZING! the recipe is perfect for what I had in mind for a friend’s bday. I’m so excited to make this. thanks for the great idea! I don’t have the oreo pans (sad) but I figure it will work for a double layer round cake. thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

