CPK Style Tortilla Soup

Question to my LA natives. Do you guys remember when CPK had the best tortilla soup ever? Not their newest version that is yellow in hue and has weird chunks of shit I’m not into in it, but their old classic red thick delicious bowl of South of the Border bliss? When I was in 11th grade this was my jam (along with full medium pizzas from Dominos and Chicken Broccoli Cheddar Hot Pockets but that’s another story … and also, eww). Lately I’ve been craving that old school bowl of tortilla soup but clearly have been at a loss of where to get said soup made sans chicken stock or any other sneaky non-vegan ingredients. So I did what any respectable vegan blogger would do and created my own. Move ovah CPK, California Vegan Girlfriend just one upped ya.

CPK Style Tortilla Soup

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 t oregano
  • 1/2 t chili powder
  • 2 t cumin
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable stock plus 1/2 cup water
  • 1 15 oz can fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1/2 7 oz can (1/2 cup) diced tomatoes and chilis
  • 2 Eziekiel sprouted corn tortillas, chopped small
  • 2 T nama shoyu (or low sodium soy sauce)
  • 1/4 cup ketchup (I used sugar-free but feel free to use whatever organic brand you like)
  • 3/4 cup water
  • salt to taste
  • Guiltless Gourmet Baked Tortilla Chips for garnish

The ingredients

Chop your onion and set aside. Mince your garlic and set aside. Prep is now complete.

In a medium pot add just enough water to cover the bottom. Add your onions and sautee over medium heat for about 2 minutes. Add your garlic and sautee for another few minutes until your onions are translucent and most of the water is absorbed.

Add the oregano, chili powder and cumin and stir until all the water is absorbed and the spices are incorporated (30 seconds-ish)

Add your can of fire roasted tomatoes, 1/2 can of tomatoes and chilis and your vegetable stock/water combo to the pot. Mix the ingredients and then bring to a boil. Once the soup has boiled reduce to a medium heat and cover. Let simmer for 15 minutes.

While I was waiting for this to cook I made some of my taco salad to go with my meal. These two really just go so perfectly together. DO IT.

Once the soup has simmered turn off the heat and pour it into your vitamix or other high-speed blender. Blend on variable working your way up to high for about 15 seconds. Do not blend too much or it will be too liquedy! Return the blended mixture back into the pot. Add your ketchup, nama shoyu and chopped corn tortillas.

Bring to a boil and then simmer over medium heat for 8-10 minutes. Season with salt to taste and if you like it spicy you can add a little tabasco as well (I didn’t think it needed any though). Ladle into bowls and serve with crumbled blue corn chips and/or avocado, vegan sour cream, bakes corn tortilla strips or any other vegan toppings your heart desires.

Try not to eat the entire recipe in one sitting!! (Woopsies).

This soup is seriously so much like the original bombdiggybomb version CPK used to make I couldn’t believe my mouth. To say this was a success would be an understatement. I might even go as far as saying this could be the best tortilla soup I’ve ever had. Now if I could only figure out how to veganize CPK’s entire menu I think I’d be ready for The Next Food Network Star. Do you guys have any restaurant favorites you’d like to see me veganize? Let me know!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

One thought on “CPK Style Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: Edamole/Guacamame – low fat guac you can enjoy by the boatload « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

