Vegan and Gluten Free Cereal

Cereal – who doesn’t love it. It is so quick, so simple and so satisfying. Sometimes it’s all I want for dinner. Carbs in a bowl with some non-dairy milk and I am pretty much set. I used to eat cinnamon toast crunch and cap’n crunch like it was my job. Clearly I no longer dabble with refined flour and sugar contained in the aforementioned cereals, but sometime you just gotta commit carbacide and you gotta do it right.

A lot of commercial brands of cereal use animal derived “vitamins” to fortify their products (like vitamin d) as well as gelatin, whey protein, and other gnarly chemicals and additives resulting in a very un-vegan bowl of toxic ish. I also stay far away from wheat, due to my personal sensitivity to it as well as my belief  that it is highly acid forming and in no way a health food, (great article on gluten causing health problems and weight gain here) leaving me with even fewer options considering wheat is the number one ingredient in most cereals. So what do I do when I want to dive into some tummy friendly vegan cereal? Well through several trial and errors I have found my three favorite gluten-free cereals that I highly recommend you check out.

First up –Nature’s Path Millet and Rice Flakes.

Now first let me say how much I LOVE this brand of cereals. All of their cereals are certified organic and made from real whole foods with absolutely nothing artificial. This particular cereal is made with whole oat flour (which I don’t have a sensitivity too but if you are strictly gluten-free see what works for you) brown rice flour and millet flour. Amazing! It is also fruit juice sweetened which means zero sugar, cane juice, honey or anything else. Hooray! Best of all, it tastes amazing. Simple, crunchy, lightly sweet and super satisfying. Swoon.

Next up – Nature’s Path Millet Puffs!

Millet is a gluten-free grain which boasts a similar protein content to wheat (around 15%). Millet is also rich in B vitamins, especially niacin, B6, and folacin and offers calcium, iron, potassium, magnesium, and zinc. And in these puffs millet is the one and only ingredient! Love it!!!

Last up – Nature’s Path Panda Puffs

Ok so these may be a kids cereal, and YES the cartoon pandas may have initially drawn me in (along with the peanut butter flavor obvi) but hot damn these are great! Crunchy cornmeal puffs with peanut butter, done and yum!!!

This company has tons of other cereals that are gluten-free, including great real food alternatives to cheerios, rice krispies, and corn flakes,  but these are my favs due to the non sugar factor as well as taste.

My go to move with these cereals is to mix them all in a big bowl with some Whole Food’s Unsweetened Almond Milk and dig the eff in. I love having cereal with some of my protein yogurt before a long run or workout. Carboload? Yes please. And when it’s in the form of gluten free whole organic foods, Mr. Carby is my friend.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

10 thoughts on “Vegan and Gluten Free Cereal

  1. Pingback: Guilt Free 40 Calorie Ice Cream « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Cereal, Part Deux « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  3. Pingback: Enjoy Life Chewy Bars! « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  4. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely magnificent. I actually like what you’ve acquired here,
    certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from
    you. This is actually a wonderful site.

  5. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  6. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or
    did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

Leave a Reply

