Sweet and Simple Kabocha Squash

I’m a pretty simple eater. Don’t get me wrong, I love going out for a fancy meal but when I cook at home I stick to the basics. I eat simply not because I want to save time or effort but because simple clean eating is what tastes best to me and doesn’t leave me feeling like shit post meal time. Lately dinners at casa de Ramos have consistently included a root vegetable and more recently ones that I dress up to taste like dessert. My newest obsession in the root vegetable family is the Kabocha Squash. Have you heard of it? I hadn’t either until recently. While patrolling some other food blogs I saw a trend that vegan bloggers were freakishly into this winter squash so naturally I had to go get me some to see what all the hype was about. Coincidently enough my local Whole Foods has some lovely Kabocha to try so I loaded up on it and went home ready to experience this starchy wonder. Once I had my first bite I was hooked and have never looked back since. Now I’m a certified Kabocha addict and buy at least two a week. I make them in “bulk” and eat them pretty much every night for dinner, or sneak them out of the fridge like forbidden cookies. I played with the seasonings until I discovered that I really love to bring out the sweetness of these orange wonders, and have pretty much perfected this oh so simple recipe to taste like a naughty treat. Best part? It’s perfectly sinless, so join me in feeling no shame if you steal the kabocha from the kabocha jar.

SWEET AND SIMPLE KABOCHA

  • Kabocha Squash
  • Olive Oil or Coconut Oil Spray
  • Sea Salt
  • Cinnamon
  • Stevia

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Scrub the outside of the squash well (you will be eating it later). Then cut your Kabocha in half and scoop out the pulp and seeds.

Cut the squash into wedges and place on a baking sheet covered in foil or parchment paper. Spray with the cooking spray and sprinkle the sea salt and cinnamon on top.

Bake for 20 minutes, flip the squash, and then bake for 20 more. When the squash is done it should be brown in some areas and fork tender. Once it’s cooked, use the stevia to taste to make it super dessert and candyrific. YAAAOOOMMMMMM!!!!

Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner/Dessert is served!!

So so simple and seriously better than any restaurant made root vegetable I have ever had. This is beyond delicious. I eat it every day, EVERY SINGLE DAY. Oh and one cup has only 30 calories (I know I don’t get it either) so feel free to binge out guilt free. This treat will totally satisfy your craving for something sweet and not leaving you crashing and burning from a sugar bottom. You will never look at another sweet potato the same. I’m starting KSA (Kabocha Squash Anonymous) Meetings soon so if you want in (which you will after trying this recipe) let me know. Don’t worry, abstinence is not an option.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

7 thoughts on “Sweet and Simple Kabocha Squash

  1. Pingback: Low Sugar Lean Green Smoothie « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. Pingback: Kobacha Squash - DIET AND EXERCISES – DIET AND EXERCISES

  3. I too am a kabocha addict… I think that 30 cal per cup is incorrect even though it’s on most calorie count sites … It’s way too starchy/dense/filling to be so low in calories. Unfortunately. Too good to be true 😦 for the past two weeks I’ve basically lived off 1-2 pounds of it a day and I haven’t lost weight so, mmm who knows.

    • I think it’s prob closer to a butternut squash or even a pumpkin in terms of nutritional facts. Who knows. Either way I will never stop eating this wonder veg! 🙂

      As far as the weight loss goes you have to make sure you look at the entire picture of what you are eating (too much? not enough? what time of day? what kinds of foods?) and of course your activity level – so hard to know if the kabocha is the culprit!

  4. Pingback: Kabocha Maple Mash « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  5. Pingback: Kabocha Pumpkin Bars « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  6. Pingback: My Favorite Recipe … EVER « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

