Mashed Faux-Tatoes

Mashed potatoes = comfort food. I don’t know why but they aren’t many foods that can soothe your tummy and soul like a big bowl of the mash. Traditionally mashed potatoes involve a big stick of butter, milk and a big starchy potato (or 4). Now I love the flavor of but do not love how a big bowl of buttery starch makes me feel afterwards. So when I was craving some of my favorite comfort food last night, I sought out to make an easy, healthy and lightened up version that wouldn’t make me a literal couch potato (yuck yuck yuck …. wow I need to stop with these puns).

A few years ago I tired making cauliflower mash where I just subbed steamed cauliflower for the potatoes in an otherwise traditional recipe. I remember loving it so I knew that was a good place to start. I’m sure many of you have either heard of this method or tried it before. Not bad, eh? Like so many starch based recipes (pasta I’m talking to you), it’s actually the flavorings and sauces we like so much not the starch itself, so these substitutions are barely noticeable! I wanted to make my faux-tatos a little bit more flavorful and interesting than, well, just adding vegan butter, so I played around with a few ideas and recipes until these sweet babies were born. Needless to say I ate the entire batch right out the vitamix for dinner. And with no butter, oil, starchy carbs, or fat, you can too. You say potato, I say … this recipe.

ARIELLE’S MASHED FAUX-TATOES

(Serves 4, or one hungry Arielle)

  • 1 container of Whole Food’s pre-cut cauliflower (or one head chopped)
  • 1/2 veggie boullion cube
  • 1 tsp salt (to taste)
  • 1 Tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup almond milk

Steam the cauliflower. Place half the cauliflower, half the almond milk, and rest of the ingredients in your vitamix, slowly working your way to blending on high.

Add the rest of the cauliflower and blend again. Add more almond milk to thin out as needed.

That’s it! This version of mashed faux-tatos are seriously just as good as the original if not better and take all of one minute to make. Serve this with some grilled portabellos and steamed veggies for a delicious meal or eat it right out the blender like I did. Seriously these are so tasty and satisfying you will be shocked that they are as incredibly healthy as they are.

Serving suggestion ... yum!!!!!

Anddddd I’ve just crowned myself Mrs. Faux-tato Head. Okay, seriously, I’m stopping now.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

2 thoughts on “Mashed Faux-Tatoes

  1. Pingback: Low Sugar Lean Green Smoothie « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

