Tu-No-Way Salad

I used to be a tuna melt monster. Ever since I was a little girl in fact. Growing up I would bring a tuna sandwich to school every single day for lunch. In high school, tuna on crackers with munster cheese was my meal of choice. When my friend Ashlee gangstered a bite of said tuna, I may or may not have bopped her over the head (a tale she never lets me live down). Since high school I have worked on my anger issues and outgrown some of my selfish tendencies (only child much?), but I have not given up my love for tuna melts. Clearly fish and cheese are no longer a part of my diet, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy a delicious and healthful alternative even the choosiest eaters will swear resembles the original. This tun-NO salad is great on gluten-free crackers, celery sticks, or even in a brown rice eziekel wrap with some melted daiya cheese. Mmmmm. Here’s to childhood favorites without depleting our oceans and trashing our bodies. Hopefully one day Ashlee will forgive me.

TU-NO-WAY SALAD

(Serves 4)

  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 T reduced fat veganaise (or grapeseed oil veganaise if you are avoiding soy)
  • 2 T dijon mustard
  • 3-4 celery stalks
  • 2 T pickle relish (I like Bubbie’s brand)
  • 2 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tsp onion flakes
  • 1 T nama shoyu (or regular soy sauce would work)
  • 1/2 tsp kelp powder
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Nutritional Information: 127 calories, 3 g fat, 6 g protein

The ingredients

Drain and rise your chickpeas and put them in a bowl.

Mash the chickpeas with a fork or potato masher (I used a fork but a masher would be much easier and hurt your arm less) until there are no whole beans left.

Use a grater and grate the celery into the bowl.

Add the rest of the ingredients and mix!

Who doesn't love a good Jewish grandma making their pickles

In case you were curious what this looks like, I present to you Kelp Powder!

Try not to leave whole beans in there like I did - my arm got tired ....

Mix all the ingredients really well. Taste test and see if it need more veganaise. If not go ahead and dig in!

I ate this over, what else, a huge bed of lettuce and added some tomatoes, sprouts and avocado to boot. It was totally satisfying and guilt free!!You could also wrap this up in a romaine leaf or collard leaf and make great little wrappers!

Lunch!

Does anyone else have classic favorites from their childhood they have veganized or want to? Let me know!!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

6 thoughts on “Tu-No-Way Salad

  1. So as I was blog searching, I saw your name under comments on one blog and realized we have the same name! I don’t know too many Arielle’s! Anyways, this looks delicious. Using chickpeas is such a great idea! They are so versatile and delicious!

    • We spell it the same way too AWESOME! I just checked YOUR blog and it is so wonderful. I love how personal and honest and in-depth your about me section is. Something to strive for! Thanks so much for checking out my post, hope we stay connected here in the bloggie blog world (omg hahah such a dork!).

  2. Hey Arielle! I made your tuna salad for a 4th of July party and it was such a HIT! I made mini tuna salad wraps. All of my carnivorous friends could not believe that this wasn’t real tuna. I will definitely be making this again soon, but next time I’m not sharing… 😀 Thanks for the recipe!

  3. I absolutely LOVE this website. I can’t believe I JUST found it. I make a dish that is very similar to this recipe and I microwaved the chick peas prior to mashing them…. it makes the job 1 billion times easier. Thanks for all the great recipes. I can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

