Lightened Up Taco Salad For One

Taco salads have been a beloved treat for me for quite sometime. We all know my love of salads, and anything green and veggie centric in general, but stacked with Mexican flavors and I am in Vegan GF heaven. The tostada salad sans meat from Baja Fresh = amazing. But weighing in at 1010 calories for ONE serving, not so appetizing anymore. So on the birth night of my outrageously good ranch recipe, I decided to make a healthy vegan version of a taco salad that would pack in the flavor but not the empty calories. I was already pretty starving after a kick ass work out and didn’t feel like getting to fancy shamnce, so I utilized a lot of pre-made ingredients for my convenience, and now yours! It turned out to be so above and beyond anything I could have hoped for. I don;t even know how o why it is so good, cause it’s so freakin simple, but it is. I promise it will be the tac’o the town (omg bahahah I am such a dork).

LIGHTENED UP TACO SALAD

(Serves 1)

  • 1 package romaine lettuce hearts
  • 1/2 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup salsa (I used Whole Food’s freshly made)
  • 1 ear corn, cooked or grilled and cut off the cob (I used white corn mmm)
  • 4 Tbl black olives
  • 10 Guiltless Gourmet Blue Corn Chips
  • A shit ton of my hopefully now famous ranch dressing

Chop the romaine and add to a bowl or back into the plastic container the romaine came in (my dish saving trick for all my salads).

If you weren't sure what some chopped lettuce looks like

And now presenting, lettuce in a bowl! (It's getting tough I know)

Strain and rinse your beans and add them to the bowl.

Add the corn, salsa and olives.

Toss with a boat load of ranch. Then crumble the blue corn chips on top. DONE!

Nutrition Facts (without dressing): 216 calories, 5.9 g fat, 8.9 g fiber, 9 g protein

If you like you can garnish with 1/4 an avocado or some guac, pepper jack daiya cheese and/or vegan sour cream. Honestly, with the awesomeness that is the ranch, it really doesn’t need any of these things. I had it two nights ago with some delicious kabocha squash and broiled cauliflower for dinner. Then I had it again for lunch. And then for dinner last night. Guess what I’m having for lunch right now…. (hint: it’s the salad).

You know that LMAFO song that goes “You’re my new obsession. All I want to do. Your my new obsession girl.” Well I’ve been singing it to my salad. Normal? If it’s a super stacked, healthy and delicious taco salad, then yes. Feel like singing with me?

 

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

6 thoughts on “Lightened Up Taco Salad For One

  1. Pingback: CPK Style Tortilla Soup « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. Pingback: Edamole/Guacamame – low fat guac you can enjoy by the boatload « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

