Is This Real Life Ranch Dressing

I love ranch. Always have. I used to eat Hidden Valley by the boatload with carrots for snicky snacks all the time. I figured the “light” version meant it was healthy, right? Wrong. With ingredients like modified food starch (whaaa?) monosodium glutamate (huh??), artificial flavors and colors, not to mention milk, egg and soy, the low-fat and fat-free versions, while lower in calories, were clearly not lower in toxic sheeet. They also tasted way worse then the original version. Ugh. Since cleaning up my act going vegan, ranch and I took a little break. Now I’m a fan of Organic Ville’s gluten-free vegan version, but at 90 calories a pop, when you eat ranch like I do (read: the entire jar), I knew I couldn’t see ranch on a day to day basis. And so, I resigned to seeing ranch more like once a month. I’m terrible at long distance relationships.

Well today my friends, the impossible happened. I created a 14 calorie vegan ranch dressing that will rock your f-ing face off. Even though it’s freakishly low in calories it is NOT lacking in taste. In fact I like it more than any commercially bottled ranch I have had. Seriously. I licked the entire vitamix. Then I ate it on veggie sticks. Then I ate it on my salad at lunch. Then I made an entire meal around it so I could have it for dinner (recipe on that tomorrow). Needless to say things between me and ranch got super duper serious. Excuse me while I update my relationship status on facebook.

IS THIS REAL LIFE RANCH DRESSING

(makes a little over 2 cups)

  • 12 oz (1 package) Mori-Nu lite silken-firm tofu
  • 3/4 tsp each garlic powder and onion powder
  • 1 tsp dry dill
  • 1/3 cup water, or more or less depending on desired thickness
  • scant 2 T apple-cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp stevia (You can leave this out if you like saltier ranch)
  • 1 and 1/2 vegetable broth cubes
  • 2 T low-fat Veganaise

Throw all the ingredients in your vitamix or high speed blender and enjoy (which you most def will).

Nutrition Facts (per 2 tablespoons) – 14 calories, 0.8 g fat, 1.3 g protein

Store in a mason jar and enjoy within 5ish days (promise it won’t take that long).

Now I don’t love using soy all the time but I will gladly eat ten blocks of tofu if it’s in this ranchy version. Seriously I could not stop saying “Is this real life?????” ala David After Dentist. Yes. Yes Arielle it is.

Look for wedding invites this month. How does Mrs Arielle Ranch sound? Mmmmmm…. that’s how.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

