If You Like Peanut Butter, This Post Will Change Your Life

I love peanut butter. No, I seriously L-O-V-E love want to smother it all over my face and roll around in it like a pig love peanut butter. In cookies, in sauces, in my mouth right out the jar, I adore the nutty creamy salty sweet taste of this holy nut buttery goodness. Problem? Well if you are anything like me you really can’t eat just two tablespoons of the stuff. I mean, how could you? It’s just too flippin good.

Oh hi best friend

And so to solve this teeny tiny problem I like to call binge eating my way through a jar on a Saturday night, I have been on a quest to find a lower calorie solution. I first started experimenting with Better’n Peanut Butter last year, which I picked up at Trader Joes. This stuff boasts half the calories and 40% less fat than regular PB. Sadly the protein content and the flavor followed with the caloric reduction. I still dabbled in it for a while, mixing it with the regular stuff to try to up the taste. I eventually gave up, and resigned to eating my favorite food not as frequently.

Or NOT Better'n Peanut Butter as I like to call it (God I'm clever)

However the saga continued. Last week I went to Whole Food’s and freshly ground my favorite honey roasted peanut butter they have on “tap” (not sure what else to call it). Later that night I may or may not have eaten half the tub. Efff! The first step is admitting you have a problem.

I fantasize about sticking my head directly under the spout and pressing grind

All the freshly ground options at the Whole Foods in Venice (they have chocolate! FML)

And so, I began to patrol the internet for a solution. I saw all different kinds of peanut butter alternatives, namely peanut flour, where you just add water to make a peanut butter esque spread. Sadly they all were either discontinued (Trader Joe’s brand) or got less than exciting reviews. All except one. Behold, my new messiah in a jar, PB2.

So what is PB2 you ask? Well it is essentially powdered peanut butter. Or second generation peanut butter, as they like to call it. The company claims “Through a unique process that doesn’t involve the use of any chemicals and doesn’t alter nature’s intended balance found within the peanut, we remove over 85% of the fat from premium quality peanuts. Essentially, the oil is squeezed out of roasted peanuts and what remains is our famous powdered peanut butter – all natural with no artificial sweeteners or preservatives. When you mix water or a favorite drink with PB2 you get the same consistency as full-fat peanut butter, with all the roasted peanut flavor, but 85% less fat calories.” And so I had to give this stuff a try. I ordered it on Amazon and it came in the mail today AND OMFGGGGGG was it everything I hoped for and more. I measured two tablespoons of the powder and added one tablespoon of water and viola! PEANUT BUTTER! Well it tastes exactly like creamy peanut butter and with only 45 calories, 1 g fat, 2 g fiber AND 5 grams of protein per 2 tablespoons, I was just too ecstatic and fulfilled to know the difference. I ate it three times today. Shocker.

What PB2 looks like when mixed with water

Now you can’t buy PB2 in stores, only online. On their website you can buy 4 containers for $15.96 which is  a MUCH better deal than the almost eight bucks I paid on Amazon (got too excited, and clearly didn’t price compare, just focused on the free overnight delivery, whoops). Oh well, next time, which at this rate, should be in about two days…

Send flowers and candy via email.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

18 thoughts on “If You Like Peanut Butter, This Post Will Change Your Life

  1. I here ya on the love for peanut butter but honestly, if you know anything about peanuts, the harvesting of them creates a phenomenon known as Aflatoxin. Not good. It’s a mold fungus that grows on the majority of peanuts when they’re harvested.

    I use to work for Sunfood nutrition, I’d try they’re Wild Jungle Peanut Butter. The peanuts are harvested with that in mind. Other than that, I’d get the Arrowhead Mills brand because they sun dry their peanuts before dry roasting them. Just an FYI vegan girl. 🙂

    • Thanks Jay, I actually do know about the peanut worries but I’ve never had any sort of negative effects or reactions to peanuts. In my opinion almond butter and jungle pb just don’t taste as good. I tried to love them as much I really did, but alas, I don’t. If you read the rest of the post the whole thing is about how much I love pb! Real live pb! So I’ll risk the aflatoxin for some PB2 goodness pretty much guilt free 🙂

      • Dear VeganGirlfriend,
        I, too, just tried PB2 with Chololate = same calories. I mixed PB2 with Chocolate with cool whip!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Try it!!!!!!! Delish!!!!!!

        From a very happy weight watcher.

  2. What a coincidence! I just ordered a bunch of reduced fat peanut butter stuff the other day. I haven’t tried any of the reduced fat stuff yet (other than better n’ peanut butter from trader joe’s.) I usually start my day with toast, PB, and strawberries. I find the protein helps keep me satiated throughout the day and keeps me from binging out (usually.) Then again I don’t want to have 80% of my calorie/fat intake consumed by 11 A.M. So I too have been researching alternatives. Like you I’ve been mixing the better n’ peanut butter in with regular natural peanut butter for mass. I just ordered the PB2, but one drawback is that like most reduced peanut butters they add sugar. I did find something called FitNutz (bonus points for a funny name) which offers several mixes; including chunky, creamy, and no sugar. Unfortunately, like PB2 they too add salt to their mixture.
    The sugar free chunky only has 30 calories, 0 sugars, 2 grams carbs, 1.5 grams fat per serving. (this says a serving = 1 tablespoon, which I assume is because you probably add 1 tablespoon of water to make a typical PB 2 tablespoon serving; I’m not sure if PB2’s serving size is before or after water is added.)
    It also only has 3 grams of protein, but if you’re watching your sugar intake it seems like a great option to mix with regular PB. Here’s a link with ordering and nutrition facts:
    http://www6.netrition.com/fitnutz_peanut_butter.html#NUTFACTS

    I also found something called peanut wonder, which I haven’t ordered yet but sounds interesting
    http://www.thebetterhealthstore.com/Peanut-Wonder-Peanut-Butter-Original-1jar-16-Oz

    Another alternative I found probably won’t fit your very healthy, unprocessed diet since I’m sure it’s all chemicals and carcinogens. This is made by walden farms and “has zero calories, zero carbs, zero sugars” which is pretty much impossible, but hey let’s play pretend. They can’t even call it peanut butter but “whipped peanut spread” probably due to litigation. Walden offers a variety of spreads, sauces, and other science experiments in jars that will most likely result in class action lawsuits later on, but that people like me will gamble on due to our severe vanity.
    http://www6.netrition.com/waldenfarms_peanut_spread.html#NUTFACTS

    I ordered the fitnutz sugar free, PB2, and walden’s whipped peanut spread from netrition.com which offers a whole lot of scary workout drugs but more importantly foods/varieties you can’t always find in stores (gluten free, sugar free, low carb, Ezekial 4:9 products, sugar free granola, Shirataki Pasta, liquid stevia, etc.) and there’s a flat shipping rate of $4.95, which when ordering heavy food jars can be quite economical.
    Sorry about about the long post, but I felt inclined to share my intensive peanut butter research with a fellow addict!
    your fellow Fresh Facer/Wolff Packette,
    Kelsey

    • Kels hi!

      Have you ever tried a green smoothie for brekkie? I find that the fiber keeps me full and that I no longer need big carb and protein centric meal first thing in the am, but it’s been a gradual shift for me. Def something I highly recommend to everyone though!

      PB2 does have added sugar but it’s only one gram so it’s a pretty negligible amount. The PB2 serving is actually 2 Tbl powdered plus water which ends up being like 2 1/2 Tbl pb yay! Let me know about FitNutz I would love to try it and maybe even do a taste compare post if you think it’s a winner. I also have tried that Walden Farms zero cal pb and almost threw up. It tasted like chemicals (shocker) and death. Never again. When Trader Joes made peanut flour rumor had it you could just add a little salt and water and make a damn good pb alternative. Too bad it’s discontinued noe!

      Please update me with your peanut butter adventures!!! So happy you shared with me!

      xoxo

      • Hey Arielle,
        Just got my netrition order in the mail yesterday.

        good call on the walden farms. not very delicious. it’s like some weird peanut mousse. I may use it as filler in the future, but on it’s own it’s torturous.

        The fitnutz is pretty good. It’s kind of sweeter than the pb2 (because of the artificial sweetener in it, so not for anyone avoiding artificial additives. I do think if someone is diabetic or on a “no sugar” diet that fitnutz wins for sure.
        It is a little more expensive (especially when comparing ounce per ounce; and the serving size is only 1 Tablespoon with one teaspoon of water (so about 1/2 the serving size of PB2) It does have more calories, especially in the chunky version.

        My favorite so far is the Fitnutz Chunky. It’s got chunks of peanuts in it; which may explain the higher fat/calorie content, since I don’t think they can’t “de-fat” pieces of peanut as well as they do with the powder. If I were just straight up eating a powdered peanut butter I think I’d go with the fitnutz chunky, but for mixing I would probably use the PB2 and then a natural chunky peanut butter to up the texture. Which was kind of my plan from the start.

        The container with the fitnutz is a little annoying, it’s a baggie; which would be great for traveling or camping but is less than ideal in a kitchen setting. I suppose I could always transfer the little fitnutz baggies into an old PB2 jar for convenience.

        I kind of like having my biggest meal in the morning. It’s typically when I have the most time and my biggest weight loss success have been following the inverted pyramid of largest meal in the morning tapering off throughout the day. Although, I will admit I need to get back to my A-game of healthful eating. I have a tendency to over-obsess and be way too restrictive which ends with me just throwing in the towel altogether.

        Alrighty,
        thanks for the great advice lady,
        k.o.k.o. (keep on keeping on)
        Kelsey

      • Oooo girl you are ON it! Thanks so much for your “field reporting” on the PB. Fitnutz is gonna have to be my next endeavor. As far as your eating goes, inverted pyramid is totally great! I’ve been playing around with doing the opposite, but it tailor it to my needs when I run and do yoga. I think it’s a constant process and learning experience to play with your nutrition so I’m glad you are doing what’s right for your body! Thanks so much for the comments you rock! xo Arielle

      • Hey! I literally read your post about this and immediately ordered the four jars of it for $16.00. First of all….thank you so much!!! I have tried all those other options that you have mentioned and I agree with you about their taste, so I trust your opinion about this wonderful discovery! I just want to make sure I have this correct though- so the PB2 calorie content is the calorie content for TB of the powdered stuff (i.e. BEFORE the water is added), right? I just want to be 100% sure of this before I devour all four jars. 🙂 Thank you sooo much for sharing this discovery!!

      • Call Trader Joes customer service number 626-599-3700and tell them that they need to put their PB flour by the PB and by the other flour so people can find out it works as PB too! They said they might bring it back if they get enough interest. Thanks, Judy C of San Diego

  3. No prob Arielle! I appreciate your blog a lot. Your veggie packed fat/calorie weary recipes are appreciated by even non-vegans such as myself. good luck and god speed.

  4. Pingback: Sunsational Sun Butter Cookies « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  5. This is NOT a comment on peanut butter per se…it’s addressed to Jay Spivey. Tell me, did you ever get past the third grade? I’ve seen 3rd graders that can use the proper words and spelling than you!! Honestly!!

  6. I live in the Midwest and discovered PB 2 and PB 2 chocolate @ my local Hy Vee. They are both awesome. I used to eat tons of both peanut butter and Nutella. The taste, consistency, and reduction in calories are all awesome.

  7. Oh my god, I think I love you. I just found your website from searching about peanut butter and being vegan. I have this same issue with eating copious amounts of peanut butter. I actually just finished off some, and thought “Shit. I think I need help.” I put it on everything sometimes. It’s ridiculous–it’s out of CONTROL. Anyhow, I didn’t know this PB2 was such hot stuff. I saw it at Whole Foods the other day and thought, “Ugh, whatevs.” I didn’t even pay attention to the fact that it has so much less calories and fat. I’ll have to pick this up. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

