Everyday Breakfast Ideas

Ahhh breakfast. Questionably the most important meal of the day. Back when I was a kid breakfast was instant oatmeal and orange juice pretty much every day. Now that I’m older and much more concerned with taste and health, I’ve obviously branched out, tried a bunch of different breakfasts, and gotten way more creative. Here are some awesome breakfast ideas to help anyone tackle their first meal, vegan style.

GREEN SMOOTHIES:

My new found love for morning green smoothies is pretty fierce. I’ve been having Kimberly Snyder’s Glowing Green Smoothie pretty much every morning. You can check out my lean green smoothie for a variation or check out Kim’s original pretty much perfect recipe. The nutrition for this drink stacks up something like this:

Nutrition facts per 16 oz:

158 calories, 1 g fat, 5.9 g protein, 11.5 g fiber, 20.7 g sugar (all natural ones)

I usually have about 16-20 oz of one of these bad boys, and then if I am still hungry, which I usually am, I’ll have a piece of fruit. Which brings me to….

FRUIT:

Fresh fruit really is the breakky of champions. Fruit is meant to be eaten alone, on an empty stomach NOT with anything else. The reason for this is that fruit digests very quickly (think 45 min to an hour tops) but when eaten in conjunction with other foods or after a meal as a “treat” it ferments in our stomach and does not digest properly. This leads to bloat and even weight gain. No bueno!! SO eating fruit alone first thing in the morning is ideal. My favorite fruit right now? The cheremoya!!! Not only does it look like one for Khaleesi’s dragon eggs, (ugg Game Of Thrones isn’t on til next year, whyyyy) but it tastes like a mix of banana pineapple pear and heaven. I am legit obsessed. It also had 5 grams of protein!!! Seriously!

I cut mine in half and eat it similarly to a mango, spitting out the seeds and leaving the skin. Nutrition on this exotic wonder fruit is as follows:

1 fruit without skin or seeds:

231 calories, 1.9 g fat, 5.1 g protein, 7.2 g fiber

If you had one of these and a smoothie you would be pretty much set for breakfast and get all your protein needs (I shoot for about 10-15 per meals and snacks). If you are used to eating a big bowl of cereal, fear not! I have the Vegan Girlfriend solution.

RAWNOLA

Behold the world’s tastiest granola/cereal/snack/crack I have ever had ever. I first tried this when I was at the Longevity Conference this year in Costa Mesa. They were selling it and I ate it with some tangy probiotic coconut yogurt. YUMMMOOO. Now when I indulge in this treat, I have it with unsweetened almond milk instead, all though in some coconut or soy yogurt is great! Let me warn you though, this shit is dangerous and you will NOT be able to eat just one bowl.

Crack in a bag.... hit me.

Rawnola is made with all totally raw and organic ingredients including, coconut, soaked almonds, pumpkin seeds, figs, real raw agave nectar, sun-dried sea salt, cinnamon, ginger and whole vanilla beans. Mmmmmm. Only problem is that this granola, and all granola, is super high in fat and calories. So just make sure you eat in moderation and not the entire bag like I tend to do.

Another way to fix this problemo? The rawnola bar. The perfect serving size, measured out for my overindulgent tendencies.

Nutrition for the bar:

140 calories, 7 g fat, 3 g sugar, 4 g protein, 1 g fiber

Not the hugest fan of bars but this one is perfect because it’s totally raw, organic, and from REAL ingredients and not bad shit like isolated protein flakes or whatever.

Last we come full circle back to my old friend oatmeal, or in this case VOO – vegan over night oats! Here is a classic and easy recipe for this chewy delicious and hearty breakfast from Angela at Oh She Glows.

VEGAN OVERNIGHT OATS:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup regular oats
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 tiny ripe banana, peeled and smashed (although I leave this out since I don’t eat fruit with anything else)
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions: Mix together the above ingredients in a bowl and place in fridge overnight.

Oats - PM

In the morning remove your bowl from the fridge and add any topping you like. I love a little canned pumpkin on top with some stevia, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. You could also try maple syrup, almond butter, coconut flakes, vegan chocolate chips, whatever you like!

Oats - AM. Rise and VOO it up!

The nutrition for this with the banana are as follows:

320 calories, 9 g fat, 13 g sugar, 9 g protein, 11 g fiber

And breakfast is served!!! Hope everyone can find one of these options to be to their liking. Any other questions about breakfast? Would love to hear your thoughts!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

