Gluten Free, Low Gylcemic, Kick Ass Carrot Bread Pudding

Happy Father’s Day!!! Today I spent the day making my dad what was supposed to be a carrot cake, per his request. I told him I wanted to make him something for his special day and he requested his favorite desert, carrot cake. I, being the selfish only child I am, also wanted to get down with the carroty goodness, and so I set out to make a gluten free no real sugar very vegan version. Due to all my substitutions, however, the consistency was not exactly cake like. It was bread pudding level. BUT it was SO FUCKING DELICIOUS. Seriously, the flavors were out of this world. I made frosting just for my dad, but it was nothing spectacular. He loved it but it isn’t good enough to share with my lovely readers (hi mom!) in my humble opinion. However, the newly deemed carrot bread pudding most definitely is.

Kick Ass Carrot Bread Pudding – gluten free and low glycemic

3/4 cup coconut oil and unsweetened apple sauce (half and half it)
2 “eggs” worth of Ener-g egg replacer (1 egg = 1 1/2 tsp dry Egg Replacer plus 2 tbsp water) or you can use a flax “egg”
3/4 cup maple syrup and coconut nectar mixed (I used coconut secret brand)
1-1/2 cups grated carrots
1 tsp vanilla
1-1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix (gluten free!)
1/2 cup walnuts chopped and 1/3 cup raisins (both optional depending on your preference, but they really made the “cake”)

All the ingredients

Directions:

Melt the coconut oil by placing it in a pot of warm water. This will turn the solid hard coconut oil into a liquid!

Peel and grate the carrots using a grater or a food processor.

7 carrots made about 2 cups of grated carrots

Into the food processor they go! This took all of one mintue, amazing!

Beat oil, egg replacer, and maple syrup/coconut nectar together.

Wet ingredients

Wet ingredients

Then mix in the rest of the ingredients into your bowl. Batter will be thick.

The batter!

Poor into a greased loaf pan (8 x 4 works great) and bake at 350° for 45-50 minutes (toothpick should come out clean), or use a greased 8-inch layer cake pan and bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes.

Soy free Earth Balance and a paper towel aka my greasing materials

Before

After!

Let it cool a bit and enjoy! The consistency is gonna be super moist and almost pudding like (thus the bread pudding title). This would be even more appropriate in little mini ramekin/souffle dishes. Perfect mini carrot cake bread pudding!

The slice I made for my dad! WIth frosting but promise it doesn't need it.

Not bad for my first gluten free low glycemic baking adventure! Hope everyone had a great Father’s Day and a great weekend!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

One thought on “Gluten Free, Low Gylcemic, Kick Ass Carrot Bread Pudding

  1. Pingback: Cheesy Ratatouille Bake (OMG is this good) « Your Vegan Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

