Lean green smoothie

I’ve been enchanted with the idea of creating a green smoothie lately but quite frankly haven’t had the balls. Seriously. The idea of drinking a salad with lettuce spinach and celery in the morning sounds less than appetizing but I know the health benefits are enormous. What to do what to do. Well after a lovely morning yoga class I decided there is no moment like the present and the time my friends had come. I stopped into the Co-Op in Santa Monica so get some fresh produce which included a head of romaine lettuce, a bunch of spinach, celery, a pear and a banana – but they did not have a ripe banana or pear so some improvising had to be done when I got home. Luckily I had some frozen bananas in my freezer, peaches, apples, and nectarines so I knew I could whip up something, hopefully drinkable. The results? Amazing! In fact, I think I could get used to this.

Arielle’s lean green smoothie:

(adapted from Kimberly Snyder’s Beauty Detox Solution)

(Serves 3)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup filtered water

1 head romaine lettuce, chopped

1/2 bunch spinach, chopped

3 stalks of celery

1 apple, cored and chopped

1 peach, pitted and chopped

1 frozen banana

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Ingredients, pre-prep (ignore the pear I didn't end up using it)

Apple, peach, frozen banana, celery, half of a lemon

Directions:

Throw your water, chopped lettuce and spinach into your vitamix (or other high speed blender, although I cannot stress enough how amazing the vitamix is and worth every pretty penny).Blend starting on a low speed and moving higher as it mixes.

Before blendng. It will look really full but don't worry it will reduce a lot in size.

After blending. See? I told you not to worry.

Add the rest of the ingredients and blend again.

All the ingredients - it's a party!

Ta da!! All done!

Now pour about 16 oz and enjoy!

Cheers!

If you are just making this for you, save the extra smoothie in a big cup and drink it for a mid day snack and for tomorrow’s breakfast. It will be good for about two days. You can also freeze individual sized portions of the smoothie and thaw it out the night before you want to drink it. So simple!

Here's how I saved my extra smoothie. Don't ask me why I have a big gulp Twilight cup. I swear it's not mine.

This is such a perfect post yoga breakfast or snack. It was super quick to make, tastes great and is SO SO good for you. Hope you like it!!!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

3 thoughts on “Lean green smoothie

  1. Pingback: Everyday Breakfast Ideas « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. love love love my green smoothies.. i drink one every morning!! try subbing coconut water for regular water… it really makes a different and adds extra goods stuff!!

Leave a Reply

