Dave’s Gourmet Korean Food aka vegan crack

I’ve been hearing about Dave’s Korean food for months before I tired some of his famous Tempha at a friend’s and OMFGGGGGG. Ummmm the best darn SOY FREE tempeh I have ever had. Today I needed a hit bad, so I tracked him down at the West Hollywood Farmers Market in Plummer Park and got the goods.

West Hollywood Farmers Market

Plummer Park
N Vista and Fountain Ave
West Hollywood, CA 90046

WeHo Farmers Market - on a mission to find Dave!

Here’s Dave’s schedule:

Monday: West Hollywood farmers market (9am- 2pm)

Tuesday: Culver city 3:00pm- 7:00 Pm
Sherman oaks
Torrance 8:00am -1:00 pm
Manhattan beach 12:00am- 4:00 pm

Wednesday: Westchester 8:30am-1

Thursday : South Pasadena 4:00pm-8:00pm
West LA 1-6pm

Friday: Venice 7:30 am-11:30 am
Hermosa beach 12:00-4:00pm

Saturday: Playa Vista 8:00-2:00pm
Burbank 8:00 Am-12 pm
Torrance 8:00am-1:00pm
Silverlake 8:00am-1:00pm

Sunday: Hollywood 8:00 am- 1:00pm
Studio City 8:00am- 1:00pm
Mar Vista 9:00am- 2:00pm
West La 9:00am- 2:00pm
Melrose 9:00am- 2:00pm
Brentwood 9:00am- 1:00pm
Pacific Palisades 8:00am-1:30pm

Since this market is supah small it took all of one minute to find Dave. He was towards the end of the market with a huge smile on his face clearly ready to fill me up with his gourmet Korean food!!!

How cute is Dave!!!!!

Now I did a little research and found out that Dave is a former acupuncturist. All of his products are vegan and msg-free, and his food is a line of traditional Korean banchan (side dishes) that are usually eaten as part of every meal with rice and a soup or stew. He also has oil free salad dressings, kimchee, and the fermented broth of the God’s (my name for it).

Standouts are the Tempha (duh), Spicy Tofu, Green Seaweed Salad, Burdock, Veggie Mixed (Spicy) .... I guess I could go on cause everything is so dope

Kimchee and salad dressings

Samples!!!! Dave will legit feed you lunch with all the samples he generously doles out πŸ™‚ I love me some samples!

I ended up buying two things of the Tempha, two of the seaweed salad, one of the spicy mixed veggie and one of the burdock.

Completely soy free fermented black bean and brown rice tempah - fermented for over 9 months and good in the fridge for 2 months!!

This is seriously crack cocaine in a tiny Korean package. I ate one entire container on the car ride home. FML.

No sugar or oil!!! Just five delicious types of seaweed and kelp YUM!!!!

Amazeballs. Perfection. And on the same bite as the Tempah with some avocado and the spicy veg OMFG. Vegan foodgasm.

On my way out of the Farmers Market, Dave literally chased me almost to my car to ask me the name of my blog again πŸ™‚ He loved it. And I love him and his fermented crack. I’ve been singing this to the tune of that Pizza Bagel Bites song from the 90s all day: “Tempha in the morning, tempha in the evening, tempha at supper time. When tempha’s from Dave’s Korean I can eat tempha all the time. Tempha bagel bites ….” (still working out the kinks on that one, but gonna go viral with it as soon as I do).

Eat. Pray. Tempha.

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

5 thoughts on “Dave’s Gourmet Korean Food aka vegan crack

  1. Pingback: The Local Rose | Holistic living | Organic recipes | Delicious and healthy food

  2. Pingback: The Local Rose | Holistic living | Organic recipes | Delicious and healthy food

  3. Thanks for posting Dave’s schedule, which I couldn’t find anywhere else. (Sadly he doesn’t have his own site, or an updated Facebook page.) He’s added at least two more regular stops since your post: Friday at Echo Park (3-7) and Sunday at Atwater Village (10-2). Great site, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

