Cleansing and the perfect green juice recipe

Hello friends!

So tonight will commence the final night of a 7 day cleanse I have been on, called The Sonne Cleanse (for more info click here). For the past 7 days I have been having only a cleansing drink, green grass tablets, green veggie juice and nothing else. Other than a 5 day hangry bout with the Master Cleanse two years ago, this is the first time I have really done a cleanse, and the first time I have actually completed one. Win! I feel amazing but I am def ready to eat food again. I have never fasted for this long in my life and it has been a very eye opening process on colon health, detoxing, and just how little food we actually need to survive and thrive.

All of our health begins in our colon. If we have a backed up system no foods, drugs, supplements, or whatever can rid our bodies of chronic ailments or disease. This cleansing program helps us to do a complete and thorough cleansing of our colon. The daily drinks and supplements plus coffee enemas and/or colon hydrotherpay, which is an absolute MUST on this cleanse, help us hit reset on our intestinal health so we can garner the benefits of the healthful vegan foods we eat! Hooray!

My daily schedule went something like this:

  • 7:00 am – Cleansing Drink
  • 8:30 am – Supplements
  • 10:00 am – Cleansing Drink
  • 11:30 am – Green Juice
  • 1:00 pm – Cleansing Drink
  • 2:30 pm – Supplements
  • 4:00 pm – Cleansing Drink
  • 5:30 pm – Green Juice
  • 7:00 pm – Cleansing Drink

Like any fasting program this was at times, very challenging, but since I set a clear intention before I started this program it was easy for me to over come the hunger pains or weakness I was feeling as a result of the toxicity being stirred up inside my body. If you are thinking about a cleanse I highly recommend doing it when you can rest a lot if necessary. I spent the better half of day 4 in bed. It is also incredibly involved and involves juicing freshly several times a day. I suppose it would be possible to buy your juices from a juice bar and save yourself sometime and/or money if you do not own a juicer. But being the DIY-er overachiever than I am I juiced freshly for each drink, including apple juice every 3 hours. Whatever.

So yay for setting intentions and goals and completing them. Yay for health. And BIG yay for breaking my fast tomorrow. I already have two soup recipes I want to cook up and I can not wait. Breaking a fast is an important part of the entire cleansing process, and it’s very important to take it easy on your digestive system for the next few days. That means consuming veggie soups, miso soup, steamed veggies, green juice etc for the first few days, and very slowly reintroducing new foods.

And that’s the low down with my cleanse. Now let’s move on to one of the fabulous discoveries I have made while fasting – my awesome green juice recipe! This juice is incredibly tasty and extremely detoxifying.

Arielle’s glowing green juice:

5 chunks pineapple

2 leaves Dino Kale

Handful spinach

1/4 cucumber

2 stalks of celery

optional:

Handful parsley

Handful cilantro

Handful dandelion greens

Put through your juicer (I use an Omega 8000 and I LOVE it) and enjoy within 15 minutes to get the maximum nutritional benefits! Yum!

You don’t need to be on a cleanse to enjoy this juice. I intend to start having it first thing in the morning. It’s a great way to rehydrate after a night’s sleep and give yourself all your nutrients right off the bat! Wayyyyy better than coffee 🙂

Has anyone else done a cleanse they absolutely love? Let me know!! And happy hump-day!

xoxo

Your Vegan Girlfriend

One thought on “Cleansing and the perfect green juice recipe

Leave a Reply

