Sun Cafe: All that is right and good in vegan dining

I’d like to start off this blog with a loving tribute to my all time favorite semi-raw, totally vegan restaurant in Studio City, Sun Cafe.
Sun Cafe
3711 Cahuenga Blvd W
Studio City, CA 91604
(818) 308-7420

Hours:
Mon-Sat 11 am – 10 pm
Sun 10 am – 10 pm

Formally Sunpower, Sun Cafe recently acquired former Cru executive chef Rachel Carr. I have had the privilege of taking some of Rachel’s raw vegan cooking classes (offered every Saturday at 9:30 am), so if you really want to step up your knowledge about vegan and raw foods I highly suggest you ch-ch-check it out.

Now, on to the food!

They had a special right now where if you mention Yelp you got a free lettuce taco app. Not sure if it’s still going on but hey, worth a try for the free grub. These tacos are the perfect starter, not too filling, but just enough to get your palate ready for the feast to ensue. My favorite part about these bad boys is the raw “chorizo.” Mmmm.

Lettuce Tacos - Savory SunPower "chorizo," fresh salsa, green onions, pine nuts, cashew cheese, ranch dressing and avocado, wrapped in Romaine leaves.

Another standout app isis the nachos 50/50: 1/2 on raw jicama and half on corn chips.  Crunchy jicama and house baked corn chips covered with layers of “chorizo,” guacamole, salsa and nacho cheese. I actually cote for these over the tacos just because they are so fun to eat.My all time favorite, cannot stray, never let me down entrée is the Raw Supreme Pizza. Why? Because its supah filling, crunchy, cheesy, marinated mushroomy, and comes with a side salad, which of course means their oh so heavenly kale. The kale salad comes drizzled with a cashew cream sauce that is to die for. If you’re feeling extra glutinous like I do per usu, order extra dressing on the side, for dipping, slathering, and straight up eating off your fork.

Raw Supreme Pizza - Crunchy sunflower seed crust with marinara sauce, cashew cheese, savory SunPower "sausage," tomatoes and marinated peppers and onions. (Photo credit: http://www.suncafe.com)

Very recently Sun Cafe added Sunday hours and a spectacular Brunch! I, of course went the first weekend it was opened. Here’s a peak at the menu.

Everything sounds amazeballs!!

After much deliberation I decided on the Sun Florentine. And it was OOC (out of control) good. I got it on a raw pizza crust instead of the wheat bread since I am gluten free, and creepily obsessed with their crusts.

Before

Aftah. Take no prisoners. Take it to the face.

Even though I was stuffed to the gillz, I could not resist the ultimate, STOOPIDIST, heaven in a pie, the Raw Cookie-Dough Cheesecake. It is legit prob one of my favorite things ever. It’s made with coconut, cashews, cacao (raw chocolate), goji berries, and I assume a nut and date crust. It is so super duper sweet and dense so I def recommend splitting that bitch.

There is a God. And she is a cheesecake.

Other standouts from this vegan holy grail include the portobello sammie, the new and unbelievable pad thai, and the kale colossus.

Hope you enjoy this place as much as I do!!

xoxo
Your Vegan Girlfriend

5 thoughts on “Sun Cafe: All that is right and good in vegan dining

  1. Pingback: Elf – Fancy Vegan Eats in Echo Park « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. While the food here maybe good, the people that run in are bad human beings. I’ve never made to be felt so unwelcome in any establishment ever. I am a regular customer and between myself and my colleagues we’ve probably spent over $2000 here this year. Last night however, I accidentally broke a glass and they charged me $5. I asked them to reconsider since I have been such a good customer. Nope. They rudely informed me that was their policy and they’d rather lose all my future business than forgive me. Stay away from this place. They don’t deserve your money.

  3. Hi there,
    We’re working on a story here at The Daily Meal on America’s best nachos. Sun Cafe’s nachos are being featured! I would love to use your photo for the piece. Please let me know as soon as possible. You can email me at jbruce@thedailymeal.com. Thanks so much!

    Best,
    Jane Bruce
    Photo Editor
    The Daily Meal

  4. Okay place, a bit heavy, not really healthy raw food and the agave, ugh don’t even get me started on how evil that stuff is and it’s in everything here! The service was just okay and the shakes were good if you don’t mind all the sweeteners. Ther are just too many raw food p,aces in L.A to settle for unhealthy raw.

Leave a Reply

